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SMALL ESTATE AFFIDAVIT CHECKLIST – FORT BEND COUNTY COURTS AT LAW  

Texas Estates Code Chapter 205 dealing with Small Estate Affidavits generates much confusion. Banks, insurance 

companies, and title companies often tell individuals to file a Small Estate Affidavit (SEA) without considering 

the limited circumstances in which an SEA can be granted.  Individuals then fill out a form without reading the 

statute and without understanding Texas intestacy law. They pay a $368.00+ filing fee and expect approval.  But 

many SEAs are denied for problems that cannot be correct, and the denied applicants lose their filing fees.  Many 

other SEAs cannot be approved without amendment.  Approval of a SEA is within the Court’s discretion.  

Before filing a SEA, carefully review this checklist and the attached charts regarding Texas rules for who takes 

what property when the decedent didn’t have a will (rules for descent and distribution).  See also the requirements 

for SEAs in Chapter 205 of the Texas Estates Code and the rules for descent and distribution in Chapter 201. To 

prepare a SEA that the Court can approve, you will need to understand all of the rules and requirements.  The 

complexity of the Code poses many pitfalls for non-lawyers – and even some lawyers - attempting to comply with 

the requirements.  An attorney’s assistance in drafting a SEA may prevent the denial of an Affidavit that might 

have been approved if the SEA had been prepared correctly.  

This checklist explains the basics, but the list doesn’t cover everything included in Chapters 201 & 205  

1. Use the most recent SEA form on the Fort Bend County Website.  To increase the chances that a SEA 

will include all necessary information, the Court requires that applicants use the SEA form that is available 

on the Court’s website. If necessary, include extra pages to provide additional information.  The SEA must 

be completed by persons who have actual knowledge of the stated facts. 

2. Civil Case Information Sheet.  Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 78a requires that a Civil Case Information 

Sheet, including contact information, be filed with all original applications.  This information sheet is to be 

filed at the time an SEA is first filed.  The Court will not consider an SEA unless the information sheet is 

on file. 

3. Cannot be filed within 30 days of Decedent’s death. (Wait long enough to be sure you have all bills.) 

4. County where Decedent resided.  An SEA should be filed in the county where Decedent resided if 

Decedent had a domicile or fixed place of residence in Texas.  If that’s not Fort Bend County, add facts to 

support venue in Fort Bend County.  Granting a SEA is in the Court’s discretion; it is unusual for the Court 

to approve a SEA for a Decedent who did not have a fixed place of residence in Fort Bend County. 

5. No Will.  By statute, an SEA cannot be used where Decedent left a will.  Applicants must swear that the 

Decedent died without a will.  If Decedent had a will, you will need to use a different probate procedure. 

6. No Administration.  An SEA cannot be approved if a petition for the appointment of a personal 

representative is pending or if it appears that an administration is needed. 

7. Decedent’s Estate Assets. 

• List everything.  The SEA must list all of Decedent’s known estate assets – not just some of them. 

Assets are any property owned that has monetary value, including cash or bank accounts, real estate, 

vehicles, and household furnishings. 

• Indicate value.  Indicate the value of each asset as precisely as possible.  An SEA cannot be approved 

with any asset of “unknown value.” 
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• Limited estate.  The SEA must show that the total assets of the estate are $75,000 or less, not including 

the homestead (see below) and exempt property (see below). 

• Provide sufficient detail.  Describe each asset with enough detail to make it clear exactly what property 

is being transferred by Affidavit.  For example, give VIN numbers for vehicles and include the last four 

digits of any account numbers, along with the name of the bank or other entity holding the funds. 

• Exempt property.  If decedent is survived by a spouse, minor children, or unmarried adult children who 

lived with decedent, the list of known estate assets must indicate which assets you claim are exempt. If 

you claim any assets are exempt, add this information in the “additional information” column on the 

SEA form.  Exempt assets are those that are exempt from forced execution under Chapter 42 of the 

Texas Property Code and that would be eligible to be set aside under Estates Code Section 353.051 if 

decedent’s estate were being administered.  Exempt assets include home furnishings, farm animals, and 

some other property, as well as decedent’s pension benefits and IRAs. Insurance benefits are also 

exempt.  You may want to consult with an attorney regarding which assets are exempt. 

• If Decedent was married at the date of death, you must also add the following in the “additional 

information” column on the SEA form: 

 State whether each asset was Decedent’s community property or Decedent’s separate property (see 

definitions on the form). 

 For each asset, give the facts that explain why the asset was community or separate property.  For 

real property, indicate the date the real property was acquired, in addition to other facts. 

• Real property:  homestead to homestead.  The only real property that can be transferred by an SEA is 

Decedent’s homestead property.  Even then, real property cannot be transferred by a SEA unless the 

real property will be inherited by an heir who was homesteading with the Decedent when Decedent 

died – a surviving spouse or unmarried child of Decedent who resided on property with Decedent.  If 

this is the case, the SEA must include sufficient facts to support the homestead exemption and must also 

include the legal description and the street address of the property. 

8. Decedent’s Debts/Liabilities. 

• List everything.  The SEA must list all of Decedent’s debts and other liabilities, including all credit 

card balances, doctor’s bills, utility bills, etc. – anything owed by Decedent or Decedent’s estate and 

not paid off.  If there are no debts or liabilities, indicate “none.” 

• Provide sufficient detail.  Indicate the amount of each liability as precisely as possible, describing the 

debt or other liability with sufficient detail so that it is clear who the creditor is.  Also indicate at least 

the last four digits of any known account numbers. Do not list the entire account number. 

9. Solvent.  The total of the assets (not including the homestead and exempt property - must exceed the total 

known liabilities (not including debts secured by homestead and exempt property).  If they do not, the SEA 

must be denied.  Distributees can pay off enough debts that the assets exceed the remaining liabilities.  

10. Medicaid.  The SEA must indicate whether the Decedent applied for and received Medicaid benefits on or 

after March 1, 2005.  If so, Applicant must either (1) list as a liability the amount owed to Medicaid or (2) 
file a Medicaid Estate Recover Program (MERP) certification that Decedent’s estate is not subject to a 
MERP claim or (3) include additional information providing that a MERP claim will not be filed.  For more 

information on MERP, see https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/legal-information/your-guide-medicaid-

estate-recovery-program. 
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11. Family History.  The SEA must state the facts about Decedent’s marital and family history in sufficient 

detail to show both who inherits Decedent’s property under Texas law as well as the shares of those heirs 
under Texas law.  Section K of the Court’s SEA form will lead you through the appropriate questions, except 

for relatively unusual situations, as long as you fill out the form carefully and completely. 

12. List all heirs.  After you have filled out Section K of the form completely figure out the heirs and list them 

in Section L of the form. 

• To figure out who the heirs are, look at the charts attached of this handout, which summarize Texas rules 

regarding descent and distribution based on Texas Estates Code Chapter 201.  Decide which of the 

following four charts applies to Decedent, and then look at everything included in that chart: 

1. Married Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants 

2. Married Person with No Child or Descendant 

3. Unmarried Person with Child[ren] 

4. Unmarried Person with No Child or Descendant 

• In Section L, list the name, address, phone number, and email address of every Distributee (heir) of 

Decedent’s estate.  If Decedent was married, you must list heirs for every type of property, even if 

you don’t think there was any property of a particular type. 

13. Minor Heirs. The Fort Bend County Courts at Law will not approve an SEA with a minor heir unless all 

estate assets the minor heir(s) will inherit can be placed in the registry of the Court until the heir turns 18. 

14. List correct inheritance shares.  In Section L of the Court’s SEA form, you must list the shares of each 

Distributee in every possible type of “property.  In every SEA, fill out both “separate property” columns. 

Always fill out the “community property” if the Decedent was married when he or she died.  To figure out 

shares, see the Texas Descent and Distribution Chart attached to this handout. 

• If Decedent was married at the date of death, the SEA must states the shares of each Distributee in all 

three types of property: separate personal property, separate real property, and Decedent’s share of the 

community property.  (The surviving spouse will retain his or her own share of the community property.)  

It is not sufficient to say that there was no separate property or no separate real property. 

• If Decedent was single at the date of death, there is no community property.  Put “N/A” in the 

community property column. 

15. Signed and sworn to by all Distributees. 

• If you need more than one signature page, use as many signature pages as needed, but note that every 

signature page must include all the italicized, boxed statements regarding what the Distributees are 

swearing or affirming, what the Distributees are requesting, and what those who sign the Affidavit could 

be liable for.  See the italicized paragraphs in the box above the Distributee’s signature lines on the Court’s 

SEA form (at the top of page 7 of the pdf version of the form). 

• Every Distributee who has legal capacity must sign and swear to the Affidavit before a notary. 

• Is there a minor or otherwise incapacitated Distributee?  If warranted by the facts, the natural guardian 

or next of kin of any minor Distributee or the guardian of any other incapacitated Distributee may sign 

and swear to the Affidavit on behalf of the minor or otherwise incapacitated Distributee.  The fact that 

someone is signing and swearing on behalf of someone else must be clear from the signature. 

 For a minor, if SEA Section K does not show why the person has the authority to sign on the 

minor’s behalf, provide proof the person signing for the minor is the minor’s natural guardian or 

next of kin. 

 For an otherwise incapacitated Distributee, provide letters of guardianship as proof that the person 

signing has authority to do so. 
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• Is there a Distributee who survived the Decedent, but who is now deceased?  If no personal 

representative has been appointed for a now-deceased Distributee, you cannot use the Small Estate 

Affidavit procedure and must file an Application to Determine Heirship.  If a personal representative has 

been appointed, the personal representative can sign on behalf of the now-deceased Distributee’s estate. 

In that case, the fact that the personal representative is signing on behalf of the estate must be clear from 

the signature.  In addition, you must provide Letters Testamentary or Letters of Administration as proof 

that the person signing has authority to do so.     

• Is there a missing Distributee?  If you do not know where to find a Distributee, you cannot use the Small 

Estate Affidavit probate procedure and must file an Application to Determine Heirship.  Note that an 

Applicant for determination of heirship must be represented by an attorney. 

16. Sworn to by two disinterested witnesses.   Two disinterested witnesses must sign and swear to the Affidavit 

before a notary.  These witnesses must also be able to swear to all the facts included in the SEA, not only 

the family history facts.  Disinterested witnesses are witnesses who have no interest in Decedent’s estate 

and who do not inherit form Decedent under the laws of descent and distribution of the State of Texas.  As 

noted in the boxed, italicized statement on the SEA form above each disinterested witness’s signature, these 

witnesses – along with the Distributees – are liable for any damage or loss to any person that arises from a 

payment, delivery, transfer, or issuance made in reliance on the affidavit. 

17. Possible hearing.  The Court usually does not require a hearing on SEA applications, but in some 

circumstances any Fort Bend County Court at Law may require a hearing before an SEA will be approved. 

If a hearing is needed, the Court will contact you to set a hearing.  Do not set a hearing until the Court 

has asked you to do so. 



 

Texas Descent and Distribution1  

The Legal Effect of Not Having a Will (for decedents dying after 9/1/1993) 

Compliments of Judge Guy Herman, Travis County Probate Court No. 1  

1. Married Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants 

A. Decedent’s separate personal property (all that is not real property) (EC § 201.002(b)) 

 

B. Decedent’s separate real property (EC § 201.002(b)) 

 

 

All separate real property will be 

owned outright by decedent’s 

child[ren] or other descendants 

when surviving spouse dies.  
 

C. Decedent’s share 

of community 

property when all 

surviving children and 

descendants of deceased 

are also children or 

descendants of surviving 

spouse. 
(EC § 201.003(b)(2))  

C. Decedent’s share of community property when there are 

children or other descendants from outside of the existing marriage on the 

date of decedent’s death (or if decedent died before September 1, 1993)  
(EC § 201.003(c))  

 

. 

 

                                                 
1 The charts in this handout illustrate the general rules of descent and distribution under Texas law.  In addition to the 
statutory references noted throughout, see the following Texas Estates Code (EC) provisions, among others:  § 201.101, 
Determination of Per Capita with Representation Distribution (fka per stirpes); § 201.051 et seq., Matters Affecting 
Inheritance (including Adoption [§ 201.054] and Collateral Kindred of Whole and Half Blood [§ 201.057]); Advancements,  

§§ 201.151 & 201.152; and Requirement of Survival by 120 Hours, §§ 121.052 & 121.053 (see also §§ 121.151-121.153). 

Surviving
spouse gets 1/3
life estate

Children take all
equally, subject
to surviving
spouse's 1/3 life
estate

All to children, 
who take equally 

Surviving spouse 
takes none, but 
retains own 
share 

1 /3 to surviving 
spouse 
Children take 
2 /3 equally 



 

2. Married Person with No Child or Descendant 

A. Decedent’s separate personal property (all that is not real property) (EC § 201.002(c)(1)) 

 

B. Decedent’s separate real property (EC § 201.002) 

If decedent is survived by 
both mother and father.  EC 
§§ 201.001(c) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 
spouse 

If decedent is survived (1) by 
mother or father and (2) by 
sibling(s) or their descendants.  
EC §§ 201.001(d)(1) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3).  

 
spouse 

If decedent is survived by 
mother or father, but is not 
survived by any sibling(s) or 
their descendants.  EC 
§§ 201.001(d)(2) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3). 

 

If decedent is survived by neither parent, but 
is survived by sibling(s) or their descendants.  
EC §§ 201.001(e) & 201.002(c)(2) & (3).  

 

If decedent is survived by no parent, no 
sibling, and no descendant of a sibling.  
EC § 201.002(d).  

 

C. Decedent’s share of community property (EC § 201.003(b)(1)) 

 

1 /4 to 
father 

1 /4 to 
mother 

1 /2 to 
surviving 

1 /4 to 
surviving 
parent 
1 /4 to 
siblings, 
etc. 
1 /2 to 
surviving 

1 /2 to 
surviving 
parent 
1 /2 to 
surviving 
spouse 

1 /2 to 
siblings, 
etc. 
1 /2 to 
surviving 
spouse 

All to 
surviving 
spouse 

All to surviving 
spouse 

All to surviving 
spouse 



 

3. Unmarried Person with Child[ren] or Other Descendants (EC § 201.001(b)) 

 

4. Unmarried Person with No Child or Descendant 

All property passes depending on who survived the decedent:1 

If decedent is survived by both mother and 

father.  EC § 201.001(c).  

 

If decedent is survived (1) by mother or father 
and (2) by sibling(s) or their descendants. 
EC § 201.001(d)(1).  

 

If decedent is survived by mother or father, 

but is not survived by any sibling(s) or their 

descendants.  EC § 201.001(d)(2). 

 

If decedent is survived by neither parent, but 
is survived by sibling(s) or their descendants.   
EC § 201.001(e).  

 

 

                                                 
1 If none of the four situations above applies, see EC § 201.001(f)-(h). 

1 /2 of all property 
to father 
1 /2 of all property 
to mother 

1 /2 to siblings or 
to descendants 
of deceased 
siblings 
1 /2 to surviving 
parent 

All to surviving 
parent 

All to siblings or 
to descendants 
of deceased 
siblings 

All to children, 
who take equally 


