
                                                                                  
Frequently Asked Questions 

       In an effort to better serve Fort Bend County’s continuous growth rate of Alarm Permit 

     and Renewal requests, we ask that the below information be viewed first. If additional                             
help is needed, please call the Alarm Detail Office at 281-341-4610. Thank You. 

 

1. How do I obtain a Fort Bend County Alarm Permit? There are several ways: 

A. Download the application from Fort Bend County’s website www.co.fort-bend.tx.us,  

click on the “I want to” tab and select “See Alarm Regulations.”  

The county’s full Regulation of Alarm Systems as Authorized by the Texas Local 

Government Code 233.092 and Administered by the Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office 

may be viewed as well as the Alarm Permit Application.  Simply print the Application, 

complete the mandatory fields and mail along with $35 payment to the address listed  

on top of the application.   

B. Call the Alarm Detail office at 281-341-4610 to request an application be mailed. 

C. As a courtesy, pick up or drop off an Application may be done at the Ft. Bend County 

Sheriff’s Bonding Office window which is always open. Please note: Your application    

will not be processed at time of drop off. Application requests must be verified by the 

Alarm Detail Office and are processed in order they are received. 

 

2. Can I use a credit card to pay for my permit and/or renewal?  No. We are working  

on accepting credit cards, but currently we only accept Personal or Business Checks,  

Money Orders or Cashier’s Checks.  Please note: Your name and address must be written 

on the Checks or your application will be rejected. 

 

3. How do I obtain my alarm company’s Texas Board of Private Investigators 

License? If your alarm company does not know it, you can search for it on the Texas 

Department of Public Safety’s website: 

www.txdps.state.tx.us/rsd/psb/company/company_search.aspx 

               Under Texas Department of Public Safety Licensing Requirements, it is a violation of the Texas  

                Occupations Code to advertise, solicit business, bid on contracts or perform any investigative  

                services without being properly licensed.  In other words, your alarm company must have a  

Class B – Security Contractor License for Alarms Systems, including camera/closed circuit  

television systems selling, installing and monitoring. Violations can result in administrative  

and civil penalties as well as criminal filings. 

 

4. How do I know if my permit is still valid? Your Alarm Permit will have a Permit Date 

and is valid (1) one year from that date. 

 

5.  When did the policy change to renew my permit every year? As approved by 

Commissioner’s Court and effective 1/2/12, Alarm Permits are issued for a one (1)  

              year period and must be renewed every year from permit date.                        
                       New Application Fee $35         Renewal Fee $10 
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6. How will I know when to renew my Alarm Permit? As a courtesy, Renewal Notices 

(printed on blue paper) are sent by First Class bulk mail approximately two (2) months 

prior to their expiration. However, it is the Permit Holder’s responsibility to submit an 

updated application and $10 fee prior to the expiration date.  Please note: Renewal 

Permits are sent by First Class bulk mail the beginning of the month of your renewal 

month.  

 

7. What can I do if my Alarm Permit is about to expire and I did not receive a 

Renewal Notice? Unfortunately, this does happen sometimes and is out of our control. 

Simply follow directions listed on Question #1.  Mark the Alarm Application as “Renewal” 

and submit along with the $10 renewal fee to Alarm Detail.   

 

8.  What if I can’t find my Alarm Permit?  Contact the Alarm Detail Office to request 

another copy be sent to you (printed on yellow paper). The Alarm Permit is to be kept on 

location and presented as requested by law enforcement.  

 

9. What if I need to change permit information? Notification of any informational 

changes, such as phone numbers or cancellation requests, must be submitted in writing to 

the Alarm Detail Office. Permits are not transferable. Please list name, permit location, 

permit number (if available) and advise by one of the following: 

A. Fax to Attention Alarm Detail 281-341-4613 

B. Mail to: Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office 

                 Attn:  Alarm Detail 

                 1410 Williams Way 

                 Richmond, TX  77469 

C. Mark your Renewal Notice accordingly and mail to us 

 

10. Can my Alarm Permit transfer to someone else? No, Alarm Permits are not 

transferable.  A new Alarm Permit application must be submitted with correct information.  

 
      To expedite your Alarm Permit Application process and avoid it being rejected, 

       please ensure: 
- Application is complete, legible and signed 
- Check or money order is enclosed, complete and correct amount payable to FBC 

- Check or money order has your address pre-printed or written on it 
- Permit request is not to transfer from one owner to another or to another address  

- Mandatory drivers license or ID number is listed on application 
- Your subdivision (if applicable) and the nearest intersection to permit location is listed 
- A new application is submitted if one was cancelled due to non-renewal prior to renewal date 

- Duplicate applications are not requested if a permit has already been issued                 
- Alarm site is in the Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office Jurisdiction 
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