Affidavit for Exemption from Jury Duty for Physical or Mental Impairment [PDF]
- Fill In The Form.
- Write Your Juror Number On The Top Right-hand Corner Of The Form.
- Sign The Form.
- Have The Form Notarized.
- ALL MEDICAL EXEMPTIONS MUST INCLUDE A LETTER OR STATEMENT FROM YOUR DOCTOR STATING AS TO WHY YOU ARE UNABLE TO SERVE AS A JUROR.
- Return both the medical affidavit AND the doctor's statement via Fax-(281) 238-3337; e-Mail email@example.com;- District Clerk, Attn: Jury Department, 301 Jackson Street, Richmond, Texas 77469 or in person at 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle Room 31004, Richmond Texas 77469.
Inability To Comprehend English
Affidavit for Exemption from Jury Duty for Inability to Comprehend English [PDF]
- The form must be translated and filled out by someone who understands and writes in the English language.
- The translator must fill in the form.
- Write your juror number on the top right-hand corner of the form.
- The translator must sign and print their name on the form.
- The form must be notarized.
- Return the language affidavit via Fax-(281) 238-3337; e-Mail firstname.lastname@example.org;- District Clerk, Attn: Jury Department, 301 Jackson Street, Richmond, Texas 77469 or in person at 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle Room 31004, Richmond Texas 77469.
Mail, Fax or Email Form to:
Beverley McGrew Walker, District Clerk
Attn: Jury Duty
301 Jackson Room 101
Richmond Texas 77469
Statutory Exemptions for Petit Jurors
- You are over 70 years of age.
- You are over 70 years of age and claim a permanent exemption.
- You have legal custody of a child or children younger than 12 years of age and service on the jury would require leaving the child or children without adequate supervision.
- You are a student of a public or private high school.
- You are enrolled and attend college.
- You are an officer or employee of the senate, the house of representatives, or any department, commission, board, office or other agency in the legislative branch of state government.
- You are the primary caretaker of a person who is an invalid unable to care for himself or herself. (This exemption does not apply to health care workers.)
- You have been summoned for jury service in this county and you have served as a petit juror in the county during the three-year period prior to the date you are required to appear by this document.
- You are a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty and deployed to a location away from your home station and out of your county of residence.
Disqualifications for Petit Jurors
To be qualified to serve as a juror you must:
- Be least 18 years of age.
- Be a citizen of the United States. (Ser ciudadano de Los Estados Unidos.)
- Be a resident of this state and a resident of the county in which you are to serve as a juror.
- Be qualified under the Constitution and laws to vote in the county in which you are to serve as a juror. (Note: You do not have to be registered to vote to be qualified to vote.)
- Be of sound mind and good moral character.
- Be able to read and write.
- Not have served as a juror for six days during the preceding three months in the county court or during the preceding six months in the district court.
- Not have been convicted of misdemeanor theft or a felony.
- Not be under indictment or other legal accusation for misdemeanor theft or a felony.
Do you have any questions? Call 281-344-3900 or email email@example.com.
** Please provide us your juror number when responding by e-mail. **