
Environmental Crimes 
 
 
 
Quick Facts On Environmental Crimes 

Property owners and local governments spend large amounts of money each year cleaning up wastes 
deposited by uncaring individuals.  These monies easily reach into the millions of dollars and some of the 
money is your tax dollars.  These individuals do not care that their waste pollutes our lands, water and air 
nor that future generations will be affected by their selfish acts.  
CRIMES 
Unlawful Dumping - Health and Safety Code 365.012

1) A person commits an offense if the person disposes or 
permits the disposal of litter or other solid waste at a place 
that is not an approved solid waste site, including a place 
on or within 300 feet of a public right of way or highway, 
or on other public or private property, or into waters of the 
state. 
 
2) A person commits an offense if the person receives litter 
or other solid waste for disposal at a place that is not an 
approved solid waste site, regardless of whether the litter or 
solid waste is disposed of on land the individual owns. 
 
3) A person commits an offense if the person transports 
litter or solid waste to a place that is not an approved solid 
waste site. 
 

PENALTIES
1) An offense under this section is a Class C 
Misdemeanor if the litter or solid waste for which the 
offense applies, weighs 5 pounds or less or has a volume of 
5 gallons or less. 
2) An offense under this section is a Class B 
Misdemeanor if the litter or solid waste for which the 
offense applies, weighs more that 5 pounds but less than 
500 pounds, or has a volume of more than 5 gallons but 
less than 100 cubic feet. 
3) An offense under this section is a Class A 
Misdemeanor if the litter or solid waste to which the 
offense applies weighs 500 pounds or more but less than 
1000 pounds or has a volume of 100 cubic feet or more but 
less than 200 cubic feet. 
4) An offense under this section is a Class A 
Misdemeanor if the litter or solid waste is disposed of for 
a commercial purpose (Economic Gain) and weighs more 
than 5 pounds but less than 200 pounds or has a volume of 
more than 5 gallons but less than 200 cubic feet. 
5) An offense under this section is a State Jail Felony if 
the litter or solid waste to which the offense applies weighs 
1000 pounds or more or has a volume of 200 cubic feet or 
more, or is disposed of for a Commercial Purpose and 
weighs 200 pounds or more or has a volume of 200 cubic 
feet. 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 



A county ditch is not a permitted site for you to get rid of your garbage   If someone you hire hauls away 
trash or materials and then dumps them illegally, you may be held liable and charges filed against you.  
The bottom line is solid waste has to be taken to a State permitted landfill.  
Lead Acid Batteries (Vehicle Batteries) - Texas Water 
Code 7.185

Dumping of any lead acid batteries such as batteries from 
automobiles, aircraft and power equipment is a criminal 
offense, punished by up to 1 year in jail and a $4000.00 
fine.  

 
Used Motor Oil - Texas Water Code 7.176 

Dumping any amount of used motor oil onto the ground is 
a Felony offense, punishable by up to 
2 years in a state jail and/or a $10,000.00 fine.  

 
Dumping in Waters, Streams, Lakes or ponds - Texas 
Water Code 7.145/7.147 

Illegal dumping of any waste material in waters of the 
state, streams, lakes, or ponds is a State Jail Felony, 
punishable by a $10,000.00 fine and/or up to 2 years in a 
state jail.  

 
Unauthorized Use of Another Persons Dumpster - Penal 
Code 31.04   HSC 365.012 

The unauthorized use of another persons dumpster, 
including the unauthorized use of a business dumpster is a 
crime.  You may be punished under the Texas Penal Code 
for Class B Misdemeanor Theft or for Illegal Dumping.  If 
the dumpster has not been rented by you, or you do not 
have permission of the owner/lessee, you are committing a 
crime when you use it.  
     

 
 
 
 



 
Junked Vehicles - Transportation Code 683.071 
 
The definition of a Junked Vehicle is, 
1) a vehicle that is self propelled and: 
2) does not have lawfully attached 
    (a) an unexpired license plate  
    (b) a valid motor vehicle inspection 
          is inoperable  and has remained inoperable for more 
than  
        (1) 72 consecutive hours if the vehicle is on public 
property; or  
        (2) 30 consecutive days if the vehicle is on private 
property. 
 
 
 
3) Junked Vehicles Declared to be a Public Nuisance 
 A junked vehicle, including a part of a junked vehicle,  that 
is visible at any time of the year from a public place or 
public  right-of-way: 
 
Offense
    (a) A person commits an offense if the person maintain a 
public nuisance as described in 683.072 
  (b) An offense under this section is a Class C 
Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not exceeding $200. 
    (c) The court shall order abatement and removal of the  
Nuisance on conviction. 

Failure to correct the public nuisance may result in the 
junked vehicle being removed and disposed of and 
transferred to a scrap yard or motor vehicle demolisher by the 
County. 

 

     

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Unlawful Outdoor Burning  

The burning of tires, PVC/plastics, treated lumber, non-
wood construction debris, furniture, carpet, electrical wire, 
appliances, heavy oils, oil filters, asphalt materials, 
potentially explosive materials and chemical wastes is 
strictly prohibited and is a crime.   

The burning of trash, brush, trees, stumps or other waste 
for commercial gain (Companies hired to remove waste 
from one site to another for disposal) is also a crime.   
 
Only when collection of domestic waste is not provided or 
authorized by the local governmental entity, and when the 
waste is generated only from a property used exclusively as 
a private residence is burning allowed.   
On site private residential burning is approved for only 
domestic wastes generated only from that property (i.e., 
kitchen garbage, tree limbs, leaves etc).  
 
Waste not considered domestic waste and cannot be burned 
includes:   
* Tires / Rubber 
* Treated Lumber  
* Non-Wood Construction Debris 
* Furniture  
* Carpet, 
* Electrical Wire  
* Appliances  
* Metal, Tin or Aluminum   
* Oils / Oil Filters  

 

 

Land clearing operations must be done through Air Curtain 
Incineration (trench burning) or other alternate methods 
and must be authorized by the Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality (TCEQ) contact the TCEQ Air 
Quality Section at:  713-767-3714 or  512-239-1250  

 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 



 
 
 

Adopt-A-County-Road Program 
 
The Fort Bend County Adopt-A-Road Program is a litter-reduction 
campaign designed to remove litter and debris from county roads and 
improve the quality of the environment.  It requires utilizing 
volunteers, citizens and community organizations that take pride in 
their roads, and want to maintain a litter-free environment.   
Many county roads are available for adoption.  For more information 
on the Adopt-A-County-Road Program, or other related questions, 
contact us at: 281-633-7578. 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

Fort Bend County - Recycling Center    
Fort Bend County maintains a full service Recycle Center (easily 
accessible from US 59 near Hwy 36) located at 1200 Blume Rd, 
Rosenberg, TX.  
 
The center accepts items such as #1 and #2 plastics, separated paper of 
all types, cardboard, clear and colored glass. The center also accepts, 
tires, used motor oil, oil filters, anti-freeze, old paint, herbicides, 
pesticides, and other household hazardous wastes.  
For more information contact the automated Recycling/Household 
Hazardous Waste phone line at 281-633-7527. 
 
 
Hours of operation at the Recycle/Environmental Center are:  
Closed on Wednesdays. 
Recycling: Monday-Saturday: 8:00am – 4:00pm (except holidays), 
 
Household Hazardous Waste: Mondays: 9am – 6pm,  
and the first Saturday of the month: 9am-2pm.  
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 

 

 

 

http://www.co.fort-bend.tx.us/getSitePage.asp?sitePage=5693

