APPLICATION FOR WAIVER OF THE SEVENTY-TWO HOUR WAITING PERIOD

IN RE:	2	In the District Court
The Matter of the Marriage of	§	In theDistrict Court
		or
	§	County Court at Law
and		of
	§	Fort Bend County, Texas
ON THIS DAY came to be heard the ceremony of	ne application fo	or a Court waiver to permit the marriage
and		
to take place during the seventy-two (72) hou	r period immedia	ately following the issuance of the marriage
license in accordance with § 2.204 of the TX F	-	are, reneming the recommender of the mannage
	-	ise for the marriage to take place during the
seventy-two (72) hour period immediately follo		•
	Ü	Ç .
Respectfully submitted,		
Applicant		Applicant
Address		Address
City, State, Zip		City, State, Zip
Telephone Number		Telephone Number
	ORDER	
The Court, having heard this Applica	ation for Waiver	of the Seventy-Two Hour Waiting Period, and
being satisfied that good cause does exist, is	of the opinion th	at the Application should be GRANTED .
IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, that	at the seventy-to	wo hour waiting period be waived. It is further
ordered that this Order be attached to the marr	riage license pric	or to the marriage ceremony, and that the person
performing the ceremony return the marriage	license and the	attached Order to the issuing County Clerk as
provided by § 2.206 of the TX Family Code.		
SIGNED this theday of		, 20
		Judge Presiding

BEVERLEY MCGREW WALKER



DISTRICT CLERK Fort Bend County, Texas

Seventy-Two Hour Waiver Information

TX Family Code Section 2.204: 72-Hour Waiting Period; EXCEPTIONS.

- (a) Except as provided by this section, a marriage ceremony may not take place during the 72-hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license.
- (b) The 72-hour waiting period after issuance of a marriage license does not apply to an applicant who:
 - (1) is a member of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty;
 - (2) is not a member of the armed forces of the United States but performs work for the United States Department of Defense as a department employee or under a contract with the department;
 - (3) obtains a written waiver under Subsection (c); or
 - (4) completes a premarital education course described by Section <u>2.013</u>, and who provides to the county clerk a premarital education course completion certificate indicating completion of the premarital education course not more than one year before the date the marriage license application is filed with the clerk.
- (c) An applicant may request a judge of a court with jurisdiction in family law cases, a justice of the supreme court, a judge of the court of criminal appeals, a county judge, a judge of a court of appeals, an associate judge appointed under Chapter 201, an associate judge appointed under Chapter 54A, Government Code, or a justice of the peace for a written waiver permitting the marriage ceremony to take place during the 72-hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license. If the judge, associate judge, or justice finds that there is good cause for the marriage to take place during the period, the judge, associate judge, or justice shall sign the waiver. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a judge, associate judge, or justice under this section has the authority to sign a waiver under this section.

Phone: (281) 341-4515

Fax: (281) 341-4519

The following is a list of the Fort Bend County District and County Court-at-Law Courts who may sign your <u>"Application for Waiver of the Seventy-Two Hour Waiting Period and Order"</u>:

	Telephone No:	(281) 238-3290
387th District Court, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 3rd Floor, Room 3H		
Richmond, Texas 77469		
505th District Court, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 1st Floor, Room 1C Richmond, Texas 77469	Telephone No:	(281) 238-3244
268th District Court, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 3rd Floor, Room 3D Richmond, Texas 77469	Telephone No:	(281) 341-8610
400th District Court, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 3rd Floor, Room 3B Richmond, Texas 77469	Telephone No:	(281) 341-4422
434th District Court, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 3rd Floor, Room 3I Richmond, Texas 77469	Telephone No:	(281) 633-7653
County Court at Law #1, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 2nd Floor, Room 2C Richmond, Texas 77469	Telephone No:	(281) 633-7415
County Court at Law #2, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 2nd Floor, Room 2B Richmond, Texas 77469	Telephone No:	(281) 341-4446
County Court at Law #3, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 2nd Floor, Room 2D Richmond, Texas 77469	Telephone No:	(281) 341-4429
County Court at Law #4, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 2nd Floor, Room 2E Richmond, Texas 77469	Telephone No:	(281) 238-1995
County Court at Law #5, Justice Center 1422 Eugene Heimann Circle 2nd Floor, Room 1B Richmond, Texas 77469	Telephone No:	(281) 238-3270