

117 LEGION DRIVE RICHMOND, TEXAS 77469

ASSOCIATE COUNTY COURTS AT LAW

PHONE: (281) 341-4424 FAX: (281) 238-2275

OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE PACKET

INSTRUCTIONS:

- **<u>FULLY READ</u>** all the documents and forms included in this packet.
- Check the status of your Driver's License to make sure you are actually in need of an Occupational Driver's License. See attached guides.
- All Occupational Driver's License Petitions **MUST** specify the petitioner's FULL NAME (including any suffixes such as JR. or II) in addition to the petitioner's DATE OF BIRTH and TEXAS DRIVER'S LICENSE NUMBER.
- A courtesy copy of the petition **MUST** be provided to the District Attorney's Office at the time of filing along with all of the above information.
- Make sure you fill out the petition **COMPLETELY** and attach all necessary and supporting documents; failure to do so may result in a second hearing being set.
- Failure to comply with these provisions will cause the petition not to be heard as scheduled.

FILING:

- All petitions must be filed with the Fort Bend County Clerk's Office Civil. Petitions <u>CANNOT</u> be filed into existing criminal cases.
- All filings MUST include: (1) ODL Petition, (2) Proposed Order, and (3) SR-22 Form.
 Texas DPS License Eligibility Sheet recommended but not required.

FEES:

- Base Filing Fee: \$350 USD
- Above fee does not include cost of Certified Copies. All costs and fees subject to adjustment by Fort Bend County Clerk's Office.
- If you are Indigent, complete the Statement of Inability to Afford Court Costs when submitting filings.
- Additional costs and fees may be required by the Department of Public Safety.

Eligibility for an ODL (Transportation Code § 521.242; 521.001(a)(6))

For a person to be eligible for an ODL, their license (including a permit, a privilege to operate a motor vehicle, and a non-resident's operating privilege) has to first be suspended.

[Note: All citations below are from the Transportation Code.]

Texas Occupational Driver's License

 No! There has been no "suspension." They could just go to the DMV, so that's what they need to do. No! This is an exception in the law – suspensions for this
reason are not eligible.
Yes! <u>BUT</u> must file application in the court where they were convicted, which will <u>almost never be a justice court.</u> (And applicant must not have been issued more than one ODL after an automatic suspension upon conviction in the past 10 years.)
 Yes! Must file application in a justice, county, or district court in the precinct or county in which: The person resides; or The offense occurred for which the license was suspended.
No! This is not a suspension. This is a non-renewal. The remedy is for them to do what is necessary to remove themselves from OMNI.

But What If?	Eligible for an ODL?
The applicant's <i>license has EXPIRED</i> , and they now can't renew for an eligible reason listed above.	Yes! The applicant's privilege has been suspended, so they are eligible.
The applicant <i>NEVER had a license</i> , and they now can't get one for an eligible reason listed above.	 Maybe! Literal reading of statute: no license or privilege to be suspended, so NOT eligible. DPS position: will honor an ODL in this situation if all other requirements are met.
The applicant is a <i>minor</i> and is otherwise eligible.	Yes! (Subject to the limitations described in 524.022(d)).
The applicant wants an ODL <i>to operate a CMV</i> and is otherwise eligible.	No! (But a CDL holder may get an ODL to operate a non-CMV vehicle).

Texas Occupational Drivers License (ODL)

If your Texas driver's license was *suspended, revoked*, or *denied* but you need to drive ... you <u>may</u> still be allowed to drive under certain

circumstances if you get an occupational driver's license (ODL).

What is an "Occupational Driver's License" or ODL?*

An occupational driver's license (ODL) is a restricted license that lets you drive at certain times, on specific days, under certain conditions, when you have an "essential need to drive."

An "essential need" means you need to drive to:

- ✓ do your job,
- ✓ get to and from work or school, or
- \checkmark do essential household duties.

Where can I read the law?

You can read the Texas laws about Occupational Driver's Licenses and surcharges in:

- Texas Transportation Code chapter 521 subchapter L
- Texas Transportation Code chapter 601.
- Texas Health and Safety Code section 469.009.
- Texas Administrative Code, Title 7, Subtitle B, Ch. 521, Subtitle I, Ch. 708.

You can read the statutes online at: www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us.



Can anyone get an ODL?

No. You cannot get an ODL if:

- you lost your driving privileges because of a mental or physical disability,
- you lost your driving privileges for failure to pay child support,
- you need it to drive a commercial motor vehicle,
- the judge thinks you do not have an essential need,
- the judge is worried about public safety,
- you have received two ODLs in the past 10 years after a conviction, or
- you have a "hard suspension" waiting period due to a prior DWI arrest or conviction.

Caution!

The process can take **weeks** to complete and can get complicated.



You may need to hire an attorney to help you reach your goal.

Overview of Steps:

- 1. **Check** the status of your license to see if you really need to get an Occupational Driver's License (ODL) or if you can reinstate your license at www.Texas.gov/driver.
- 2. **Check** to see if you qualify for an ODL.
- 3. **Gather the forms** and information you need to ask the Court to order DPS to issue you an ODL.
- 4. **File** your forms with the Clerk of the Court.
- 5. Go to **Court** to ask the Judge to sign the Order.
- If the Judge signs the order, mail the paperwork and fees to DPS right away.

See pages 3-4 for instructions...

*Caution: Effective September 1, 2015, **if your license has been suspended due to an intoxication Offense** under Penal Code 49.04 – 49.08, and you are obtaining an Occupational License:

- any vehicle you own or operate MUST be equipped with a working ignition interlock device in accordance with Texas Transportation Code Section 521.2465 for the entire period of the suspension (see Code of Criminal Procedure Section 13, Article 42.12); and
- you are not required to prove essential need and the ODL is not subject to any time of travel, reason for travel, or location of travel restrictions (see Transportation Code 521.244 (e) and 521.248 (d)).

Step 1 Do you really need an ODL? Or can you reinstate your license?

Sometimes people think they need an Occupational Driver's License when they could just **reinstate** their license.

Before asking the court for an ODL, check your license eligibility status at:

www.Texas.gov/driver

Click on "Drivers License Reinstatement and Status."

You can also call the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to check your eligibility/qualifying status: 512-424-2600 (English) 512-424-7181 (Español) This free site will tell you if you can drive with your current license and, if not, what you need to do to become eligible. If you are not eligible, the website will tell you:

- 1. The requirements to meet.
- 2. The fees you need to pay.
- 3. About surcharge waiver programs.

You can pay fees on this website and get information on how to mail proof that you met the compliance requirements to DPS. Keep checking the website because it is updated daily.

Be careful! <u>Recent</u> court actions, <u>out-of-state</u> violations, and AG-reported child support arrearages may not be reflected in your current eligibility status.

Step 2 Do you qualify for an ODL?

Even if you get a court order for an Occupational Driver's License, DPS cannot issue one if:

- * You lost your driving privileges for a medical condition.
- * You lost your driving privileges because you owe child support.
- * You have received two ODLs after a conviction in the past 10 years.
- * You don't qualify to get a Texas driver's license because you are in the United States unlawfully. The documents to verify that you are a citizen or that you are in the United States lawfully are listed at:

www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/ApplyforLicense.htm

Step 3 Gather your paperwork

- ✓ Two court forms:
 - 1) The *Petition for Occupational Driver's License* asks the Court to issue an order.
 - 2) The *Order for Occupational Driver's License* orders DPS to issue you an ODL.

Print the court forms at www.TexasLawHelp.org. You can also use the interactive forms interview on TexasLawHelp. With this program, you answer questions about your need to drive, etc. Then you print out the prefilled-in forms.

✓ Certified Abstract (Type AR) of your driving record from DPS: Get your Type AR Certified Abstract:

*By mail with form DR-36 (takes 3-4 weeks, costs \$20) or *Online (quickly, cost \$22 & must have audit number) at http://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm. Proof that you need to drive to go to work, school, or perform essential household duties, etc.
 Examples of proof: your school schedule or registration, a current pay stub, a letter from

your job, or an affidavit (sworn statement) explaining your need to drive.

✓ SR-22 proof of insurance from your insurance company: Get the SR-22 (also called a "Financial Responsibility Certificate") from your insurance company. The SR-22 proves that you have the minimum liability insurance required by law. If you don't own a vehicle, you can get a Texas Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance Policy. Your insurance company will tell DPS if the SR-22 coverage lapses, terminates or is cancelled – and then your ODL will be revoked.

Step 4 File your papers with the Court

When you file your Petition for Occupational License with the Court you are asking the court to order DPS to issue you an Occupational Driver's License.

If your license was automatically suspended or cancelled following a conviction, file the Petition in the same court that convicted you.

If your license was not suspended or cancelled following a conviction, file the Petition in the county where you live or where the offence occurred. You may have a choice between filing in District Court, County Court-at-Law or Justice of the Peace (JP) court. If so, you may want to research local procedures, court costs, and court scheduling to decide which court is best for your situation.

Ask the court clerk when you should come back for the hearing. You may need to schedule a time for your hearing.

Note: Travis County residents can review the Instructions for Travis County ODL Filers for local procedure information.

Step 5 Go to Court

Go to Court the day of your hearing. Arrive early.

When you go to Court, bring:

- The Order for an Occupational 1. Driver's License form. Fill out all but the restrictions and the judge's signature.
- 2. A Certified Abstract of your full driver record (Type AR).
- 3. The SR-22 from your insurance company.
- 4. Some courts may require a copy of the court order suspending your license and/or the notice of suspension from DPS.
- 5. Proof that you need to drive.
- A copy of the filed *Petition*. 6.



You may use a certified copy of the Order for ODL to drive for 45days after the order takes effect. Read your order to learn when it takes effect. See FAQ about waiting periods.

If you don't receive your ODL before the 45th day you can't drive until you either receive the ODL or go back to court to get an Amended Order for ODL that extends the deadline.

Step 6 Texas Department of Public Safety

A court's occupational drivers license Order is not the license itself. Rather, it is a court order telling the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to issue an occupational drivers license to you. After you get the court Order, you must contact DPS to get the actual occupational drivers license.

Mail the following documents to DPS as soon as possible!

- a certified copy of your Petition for ODL
- a certified copy of the Order for ODL that was signed by the Judge
- your SR-22 proof of insurance certificate,
- A check, money order or cashier's check payable to the Texas DPS for the Occupational License fee. Send \$10 for a 1-year license or \$20 for a 2-year license.

- A check, money order or cashier's check made out \checkmark to the Texas Department of Public Safety for the amount you owe in reinstatement fees, if any.
 - Go to www.Texas.gov/driver or call DPS at 512-424-2600 to find out what you owe.

Mail all the documents together by certified mail return receipt requested (so that you have proof you mailed them) to:



Note: If you filed an Affidavit of Indigency to waive the court filing fees, the court may require proof

At the hearing: The judge reviews your Petition and other paperwork. Then the judge decides whether or not to sign the Order granting an occupational license. If the judge signs the order, he/ she will mark the restrictions as to when and where you can drive.

After the judge signs your order, get a certified copy of your filed Petition and at least two certified copies of the Order from the clerk.

of income & expenses.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Will the State have a lawyer against me at the hearing?

Sometimes, if your license was suspended because:

- of a criminal homicide, or an intoxication offense under Penal Code 49.04 49.08
- you were under 21 and your license was suspended according to Texas Transportation Code, 521.342.

How do I get a Certified Abstract (Type AR) of my driving record?

You may purchase your driving record **online**, with a credit card and print it out. The online cost is \$22. You will need to enter your driver's license number *and license audit number* and the last four digits of your social security number at: www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm

To get a Certified Abstract **by mail**, print the DR-36 form called "Request for a Certified Abstract of a Driver Record" from www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm

Mail the completed form and a \$20 check or money order to Texas DPS. This form does not require the audit number or your social security number.

Can I drive after the Judge signs the Order?

You may use a certified copy of the Order for ODL to drive for 45 days **once the order takes effect.**

Read your Order to learn when it takes effect.

If you don't receive your actual ODL from DPS before the 45th day **you can't drive** until you either receive the ODL or go back to court to get an Amended Order for ODL that extends the deadline.

Waiting Periods— Why wouldn't an Order take effect as soon as the Judge signs it?

An Order for ODL will take effect as soon as a judge signs it UNLESS one of the following waiting periods (also called "hard suspension" applies.

If your license was suspended for refusing or failing a blood or breath test when arrested for DWI or other alcohol or drug-related driving or boating offense, the order for ODL cannot take effect for:

- **90 days** after your license was suspended if during the 5 years before your arrest your license was suspended because of an alcohol or drug-related **arrest**.
- **180 days** after your license was suspended if during the 5 years before your arrest your license was suspended because of a DWI, Intoxication Assault, or Manslaughter **conviction**.
- **365 days** after your license was suspended if during the 5 years before your arrest your license was suspended because of a second (or more) DWI, Intoxication Assault, or Manslaughter **conviction**.

How long will it take to get my ODL from DPS?

Processing time runs between three and four weeks unless a **waiting period** (*see above*) applies. Call DPS for more information at (English) 512-424-2600 or 512-424-7181 (Español).

What happens after I get my ODL from DPS?

- Maintain your SR-22 insurance. If your insurance lapses, your Occupational Driver's License will be revoked.
- Always keep your ODL, a certified copy of the court order for ODL and proof of SR-22 insurance with you when you drive. It is a Class B misdemeanor to drive without a certified copy of the court order in your possession.
- Only drive when and where the court order for ODL allows you to drive. It is a Class B misdemeanor to drive at other times or places.
- If the times and/or places you need to drive changes, go back to court to modify the *Order*.

Surcharge Indigency/Incentive Programs

If your license was suspended for failure to pay a surcharge and you have a low income DPS may:

- 1. reduce any surcharge amount you owe and
- 2. let you keep driving while you make payments on the surcharge amount. For more information about this program go to:

www.txsurchargeonline.com



CA	USE NO.	
THE STATE OF TEXAS	§	COUNTY COURT AT LAW
	ş	
VS	ş	No () OF
	8	
	§	FORT BEND COUNTY, TEXAS

PETITION FOR OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGE OF SAID COURT:

Form to this petition as Exhibit A.

Now comes ______, Petitioner, and petitions the Court for an Occupational Driver's License under the provisions of Section 521242 of the Texas Transportation Code, and in support thereof would respectfully show this Honorable Court the following:

1.	Legal Name:				
			First	Middle	Last
2.	Home Address:		Street Address		Unit Number
			City	State	Zip Code
3.	Contact Info:	() Phone Number	() Cellular Phone	
			Email Address		
4.	Date of Birth:		MM / DD / YYYY		
5.	SSN (last four):	<u> XXX - XX -</u>		Security Number ONLY DO	NOT INCLUDE ALL NINE DIGITS
6.	Jurisdiction: (Select All That Apply))	Last jour aigus of Social	Security Number ONL1. DO I	NOT INCLUDE ALL NINE DIGHS
	Petitioner	is a Resident of	f Fort Bend County	; or,	
	Petitioner	committed an o	offense in Fort Bend	d County resulting in s	uspension of license; or,
	Petitioner	was convicted	of an offense in Fo	rt Bend County resulting	ng in suspension of license.
7.	Driver's License (Select All That Apply				
	Petitioner	's Texas Driver	's License No. is: _		<u>,</u> expiring on:
	Petitioner	has never held	a Texas Driver's L	icense,	
	Petitioner	has an Out-of-S	State driver's licens	e from	
		Said license nu	mber is:	, expiri	ng on:
				driver's licenses in the	
8.	Petitioner has o	btained REQU	IRED SR-22 Form	n from his / her insura	ance provider and attached sa

9.		ension: All That Apply	v)							
		Driver's L	license is su	spended beca	ause of phys	ical or mental	disability			
		Driver's L	license is su	spended beca	ause of non-j	payment of ch	ild support			
		Driver's L	license is su	spended follo	owing convi	ction of a qua	lifying offe	nse		
		Driver's L	license is su	spended follo	owing arrest	with a breath	sample reg	istering over	0.08	
		Driver's License is suspended following arrest and refusal to provide a blood or breath sample								
		Driver's L	icense is su	spended by a	court order					
		Other (spec	<i>ify</i>):							
10.		l to Drive: All That Apply	v)							
		Petitioner	needs to dri	ve to and fro	m his / her p	lace of work	or as a conc	lition of emp	loyment	
		Petitioner	needs to dri	ve himself / 1	herself or ot	hers to school				
		Petitioner	needs to dri	ve himself /]	herself or ot	hers to religio	us services			
		Petitioner	needs to dri	ve himself /]	herself or ot	hers to perform	n essential	household du	ıties	
		Petitioner	needs to dri	ver in and th	rough the fo	llowing count	ies:			
11.		lested Cond All That Apply								
				to maintain a	n ignition in	terlock device	e pursuant t	o conviction	or court order	
		Petitioner	is requestin	g waiver of t	he 4-hour re	quirement				
		Petitioner	is requestin	g a contempo	oraneous driv	ving log in lie	u of time/da	ate restrictior	ıs; OR ,	
		Petitioner	is requestin	g the followi	ng driving s	chedule:				
						THUR:				
	F	FROM:								
	7	ГО:				<u> </u>				

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Petitioner prays that he be granted the privilege to drive a motor vehicle to perform his occupation or trade, and to perform his essential household duties under such restrictions as the Court may determine.

Signed this _____ day of _____, 20___.

Respectfully submitted,

CAUSE NO.

THE STATE OF TEXAS

VS

COUNTY COURT AT LAW

No. _____ OF

FORT BEND COUNTY, TEXAS

EXHIBIT "A"

\$ \$ \$ \$ \$

ATTACH SR-22 FORM HERE

THE STATE OF TEXAS

VS

COUNTY COURT AT LAW

No. _____ OF

FORT BEND COUNTY, TEXAS

VERIFICATION

For attorney completion

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, on this day personally appeared _	
who after being duly sworn declared:	

"My name is ______. I am the attorney of record in the abovecaptioned case. I have read the attached Petition for Occupational Driver's License and hereby affirm that to the best of my knowledge said Petition is true and correct."

Affiant Signature

Date

SO SWORN BEFORE ME THIS ____ DAY OF _____, 20___.

SEAL OF OFFICE

Signature of Person Administering Oath

\$ \$ \$ \$ \$ CAUSE NO.

THE STATE OF TEXAS

VS

COUNTY COURT AT LAW

No. _____ OF

FORT BEND COUNTY, TEXAS

UNSWORN DECLARATION

§

For Pro Se Petitioners

Unsworn Declaration Made Under Penalty of Perjury. As allowed by Section 132.001 of the Texas Civil Practices and Remedies Code, I am filing this Unsworn Declaration in support of the Petition for Occupational Driver's License in place of a Verified Petition.*

I, ______, Petitioner in the above-captioned case, declare under penalty of perjury that all information in this Petition is true and correct. I understand I could be prosecuted for lying on this form.

Signed in Fort Bend County, Texas, this _____ day of _____, 20___.

Petitioner

*Pursuant to Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code Section 132.001, an unsworn declaration may be used in lieu of a written sworn declaration, verification, certification, oath, or affidavit required by statute or required by a rule, order, or requirement adopted as provided by law. This provision does not apply to an oath of office or an oath required to be taken before a specified official other than a notary public. An unsworn declaration made under this section must be 1) in writing, 2) signed by the person making the declaration as true under penalty of perjury and 3) in substantially the form used above.

THE STATE OF TEXAS	ş	COUNTY COURT AT LAW
	§	
VS	§	No OF
	Ş	
	\$	FORT BEND COUNTY, TEXAS

ORDER GRANTING OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE

The Court finds that:

- 1. Petitioner's Texas Driver's License is suspended:
 - (Select All That Apply)
 - Following conviction of a qualifying offense
 - Following arrest with a breath sample registering over 0.08
 - Following arrest and refusal to provide a blood or breath sample
 - By a court order
- 2. There is an essential need for Petitioner to operate and drive a motor vehicle to perform her occupation or trade or for transportation to and from where Petitioner practices her occupation or trade, and in the performance of necessary household duties.
- 3. There is a sufficient showing of the necessity for waiving the 4-hour restriction and that Petitioner should be allowed, authorized and granted the right to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to the driver's license ordered herein for a period not to exceed 12 hours in any 24 consecutive hours.
- 4. Petitioner HAS / HAS NOT had a prior suspension arising from an alcohol or drug related enforcement contact in the five years preceding the arrest.
- 5. Petitioner has a valid policy of liability insurance as required by the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety-Responsibility Act.
- 6. The Texas Department of Public Safety should issue an occupational driver's license to Petitioner for a duration of the suspension period, accordingly.

It is, therefore, ORDERED by this Court, that Petitioner, _____, be

and is here now granted an occupational driver's license and use of a motor vehicle on the following days, times, routes and areas, and the four hour restriction is waived, and the 12 hour period is granted to-wit:

- Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday not to exceed 12 hours in any consecutive 24-hour period; and
- Petitioner shall maintain and carry a contemporaneous driving log to prove to any peace officer that Petitioner is not driving more than 12 hours in any consecutive 24-hour period and provide said driving log to the court or any law enforcement officer of the State of Texas upon request; <u>or</u>
 Petitioner must drive only on the days and times listed below:



Continue to Next Page

- Petitioner shall install and maintain at Petitioner's expense an ignition interlock device approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety in accordance with Texas Transportation Code Section 521.2465 and maintain records to prove to any peace officer that Petitioner is not driving more than 12 hours in any consecutive 24-hour period and provide said records to the court or any law enforcement officer of the State of Texas upon request.
- Petitioner may drive in ALL Texas counties.

It is further ORDERED that:

- 1. This Order granting Petitioner's Occupational Driver's License is effective immediately.
- 2. Petitioner may use a copy of this Court order as an occupational Texas driver's license for 45 days after the date this order becomes effective.
- 3. The Texas Department of Public Safety shall issue to Petitioner an occupational Texas driver's license, referring on its face to this order of the Court.
- 4. The Clerk of this Court shall furnish Petitioner with a certified copy of this Order, at the Petitioner's expense.
- 5. The Clerk of this Court shall forward a certified copy of this order to the Texas Department of Public Safety, together with Petitioner's license, as required.
- 6. Petitioner must attend a program approved by the Court that is designed to provide counseling and rehabilitation services to persons for alcohol dependence.

SIGNED and ENTERED this _____ day of _____, 20___.

Hon. _____, Judge Presiding

Fort Bend County Court At Law No.

A CERTIFIED COPY OF THIS ORDER MUST BE CARRIED BY THE NAMED PETITIONER AT ALL TIMES WHILE OPERATING A MOTOR VEHICLE. A PEACE OFFICER MAY EXAMINE THE CERTIFIED COPY UPON REQUEST WHEN PETITIONER IS OPERATING A MOTOR VEHICLE. IT IS AN OFFENSE TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE WHEN A CERTIFIED COPY OF THIS ORDER IS NOT CARRIED.

Cause Number:	The Clerk's office w	vill fill in the Co	usa Numbar whan	you file this form)	
laintiff:		In the	(check one)	· ,	***
And	ning the lawsult.)	Court Number	District C	ourt / County C	ourt at Law
efendant:					
(Print first and last name of the pers	son being sued.)	County		_	
1. Your Information					
			My da	te of birth is:	//
My full legal name is:					-
My full legal name is: <i>First</i> My address is: <i>(Home</i>)					-
My full legal name is: First My address is: (Home) (Mailing)					
My full legal name is: <i>First</i> My address is: <i>(Home</i>)					
My full legal name is: First My address is: (Home) (Mailing) My phone number: About my dependents: "The people	_My email:				
My full legal name is: First My address is: (Home) (Mailing) My phone number: About my dependents: "The people Name	_My email:				
My full legal name is: My address is: (Home) (Mailing) My phone number: About my dependents: "The people Name 1	_My email: who depend or	n me financi	ally are listed b	pelow.	
My full legal name is: First My address is: (Home) (Mailing) My phone number: About my dependents: "The people Name 1 2	_My email: who depend o	n me financi	ally are listed b	pelow.	
My full legal name is: First My address is: (Home) (Mailing) My phone number: About my dependents: "The people Name 1 2 3	_My email: who depend or	n me financi	ally are listed b	pelow. Relationsh	ip to Me
My full legal name is: First My address is: (Home) (Mailing) My phone number: About my dependents: "The people Name 1 2 3 4	_My email: who depend or	n me financi	ally are listed b	pelow. Relationsh	ip to Me
My full legal name is: First My address is: (Home) (Mailing) My phone number: About my dependents: "The people Name 1 2 3	_My email: who depend or	n me financi	ally are listed b	pelow. Relationsh	ip to Me

-or-

I asked a legal-aid provider to represent me, and the provider determined that I am financially eligible for representation, but the provider could not take my case. I have attached documentation from legal aid stating this.

or-

I am not represented by legal aid. I did not apply for representation by legal aid.

3. Do you receive public benefits?

I do not receive needs-based public benefits or -						
I receive these public benefits/government entitlements that are based on indigency:						
(Check ALL boxes that apply and attach proof to this form, such as a copy of an eligibility form or check.)						
□ Food stamps/SNAP □ TANF □ Medicaid □ CHIP □ SSI □ WIC □ AABD						
Public Housing or Section 8 Housing Low-Income Energy Assistance Emergency Assistance						
□ Telephone Lifeline □ Community Care via DADS □ LIS in Medicare ("Extra Help")						
Needs-based VA Pension Child Care Assistance under Child Care and Development Block Grant						
County Assistance, County Health Care, or General Assistance (GA)						
Other:						

4. What is your monthly income and income sources?

"I get this mo	onthly income:			
\$	in monthly wages. I wo	rk as a	for itle Your employer	<u> </u>
			n unemployed since (date)	
\$	in public benefits per m	onth.		
	from other people in my household income.)	/ household eac	ch month: (List only if other members contribute to	your
<u>\$</u>	from Retirement/Pe Social Security Child/spousal s My spouse's in	Milita	bonuses Disability Worker's ary Housing Dividends, interest, royaltie	s
\$			escribe)	,
	is my total monthly inc			
5. What is tl "My propert	he value of your prop y includes:	erty? Value*	6. What are your monthly expenses? "My monthly expenses are:	Amount
Cash		\$	Rent/house payments/maintenance	\$
Bank accour	nts, other financial asse	ets	Food and household supplies	\$
		\$	Utilities and telephone	\$
		\$	Clothing and laundry	\$
		\$	Medical and dental expenses	\$
Vehicles (ca	rs, boats) (make and year)	Insurance (life, health, auto, etc.)	\$
		\$	School and child care	\$ \$
		\$	Transportation, auto repair, gas	\$
		\$	Child / spousal support	\$
Other proper another hor	rty (like jewelry, stocks, use, etc.)	land,	Wages withheld by court order	\$
-	. ,	\$	Debt payments paid to: (List)	\$
	_	\$		\$
		\$		\$
Tota	I value of property –	→ \$	<i>Total</i> Monthly Expenses	» \$

*The value is the amount the item would sell for less the amount you still owe on it, if anything.

7. Are there debts or other facts explaining your financial situation?

"My debts include: (List debt and amount owed)

(If you want the court to consider other facts, such as unusual medical expenses, family emergencies, etc., attach another page to this form labeled "Exhibit: Additional Supporting Facts.") Check here if you attach another page.

8. Declaration

I declare under I cannot affo I cannot furn	rd to pay cou	rt costs.				further swear: tice court decision.	
My name is					<u> </u>	date of birth is :	_//
My address is _							
	Street			City	State	Zip Code	Country
		signed on	/	/	_in	County,	
Signature			Month/Da	y/Year	county nan	ne	State

© Form Approved by the Supreme Court of Texas by order in Misc. Docket No. 16-9122 Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs

"