CAUSE NO. 20-CPR-000002

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER IN THE COUNTY COURT

§
§
LOCAL ORDERS FOR PROBATE AND §
GUARDIANSHIP MATTERS PENDING  § AT LAW NUMBER ONE (1)
IN COUNTY COURT AT LAW NO. 1 §
AND IN COMPLIANCE WITH TEXAS §

§

ESTATES CODE §53.104 AND §1054.001 FORT BEND COUNTY, TEXAS

STANDING ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER SETTING AN AD LITEM
DEPOSIT IN PROBATE & GUARDIANSHIP CASES

On this day, Fort Bend County Court at Law No. 1 (the "Court") considered in
chambers, the issues surrounding attorney ad litem fees. It is the Court’s duty to
ensure that estates of decedents and wards pay only for “reasonable and necessary” attorney’s fees
and expenses, including the fees and expenses of an attorney ad litem. See Texas Estates Code
§§ 53.104 and 1054.001. The factors to be considered in determining the reasonableness of
attorney’s fees are set forth in Rule 1.04 of the Texas Rules of Professional Conduct. One factor
is the customary hourly rates of attorneys with similar education and skills performing similar
services. The Court recently studied these rates and the issues surrounding payment of attorney
ad litems. Therefore, the Court finds that the ad litem deposit is required for the services of an

attorney ad litem.

Itis THEREFORE ORDERED and DECREED that unless an affidavit of indigency is filed
with an application, effective October 15, 2020, each application filed thereafter requiring the
appointment of an attorney ad litem will be required to deposit into the registry of the Court $525
toward the services of the attorney ad litem. The following applications or motions require an ad
litem deposit: Application for Appointment of Guardian, Application for Appointment of
Temporary Guardian, Application for Appointment of Independent/Dependent Administrator and
Determination of Heirship, Application for Determination of Heirship, Application for Sale of
Property of a Minor by a Parent or a Ward without Guardianship of the Estate and/or an
Application for Attorney Ad Litem.



It is FURTHER ORDERED and DECREED that the ad litem deposit will be used as
payment of the Court ordered Attorney Ad Litem fees in the above referenced cases. If the Court
orders payment of less than $525.00, the excess will be refunded to the applicant. If the Court
orders payment of more than $525.00, the order will indicate how the additional fee will be paid.
Upon order of this Court, the Fort Bend County Clerk’s Office shall release the ad litem deposit,
minus any interest accumulated, as outlined in the Court’s order. Any interest accumulated from
the ad litem deposit will be returned to the applicant or upon request of the applicant, deposited
into the Fort Bend County General Fund.

Signed on (o day of October, 2020

HON. CHRISTQPHER G. MORALES \\
COUNTY COURT AT LAW NO. 1
FORT BEND COUNTY, TEXAS



