II.

III.

GUIDELINES FOR APPOINTMENTS OF ATTORNEYS AD LITEM,
GUARDIANS AD LITEM, MEDIATORS, AND GUARDIANS
328™ JUDICYAL DISTRICT COURT

ATTORNEYS AD LITEM
A. Minimum Requirements for Qualification to Serve as Attorney Ad Litem
1. At least 50% of the annual practice related to family law
2. 8 hours of continuing legal education in family law and 3 hours in ethics for
the last reporting year
3 Have Previously attended the amicus/ad litem training seminar presented by

the Fort Bend Family Bar or the Fort Bend County Bar Association, or viewed
the video of that live presentation.
4. Must maintain an office or residence in Fort Bend County

GUARDIANS AD LITEM
A. Minimum Requirements for Qualification to Serve as Guardian Ad Litem
1. Have previously attended the amicus/ad litem training seminar presented by
the Fort Bend Family Bar or the Fort Bend County Bar Association, or viewed
the video of that live presentation.

MEDIATORS
A. Minimum Requirements for Qualification to Serve as Mediator
1. Completion of the requirements of CPRC Section 154.052
2. 3 hours of continuing legal education in alternate dispute resolution for the last
reporting year
3. For appointments involving CPS, 3 hours of continving legal education related

to Texas Family Code Chapter 262 regarding protection of the child, or prior
training and experience as a mediator in CPS cases.

GUARDIANS
A. Minimum Requirements for Qualification to Serve as Guardian
L. Have previously attended the amicus/ad litem training seminar presented by
the Fort Bend Family Bar or the Fort Bend County Bar Association, or viewed
the video of that live presentation.

Attorneys seeking appointments, must attach their State
Bar of Texas MCLE Transcript. Mediators will need to
attach their certificate of completion of the mediation

07/19/19

courses.

*- Attorneys seeking appointments must attach their State Bar of Texas MCLE Transcript. Mediators will
have a certificate of completion of the mediation courses.




