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SIXTH AMENDED 
FORT BEND COUNTY ADULT PLAN AND LOCAL RULES 

FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL 
TO INDIGENT DEFENDANTS 

IN THE DISTRICT AND COUNTY COURTS OF FORT 
BEND COUNTY, TEXAS, PURSUANT TO ART. 26.05, ET 

SEQ., TEXAS RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 

(Amended 12-12-2018) 
 
 

PREAMBLE 
 

This "SIXTH AMENDED FORT BEND COUNTY ADULT PLAN AND 
LOCAL RULES FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL TO INDIGENT 
DEFENDANTS IN THE DISTRICT AND COUNTY COURTS OF FORT BEND 
COUNTY, TEXAS, PURSUANT TO ART. 26.05, ET SEQ., TEXAS RULES OF 
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE", hereinafter referred to as the "Plan", shall take the place 
of the “FIFTH AMENDED FORT BEND COUNTY ADULT PLAN AND LOCAL 
RULES FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL TO INDIGENT DEFENDANTS 
IN THE DISTRICT AND COUNTY COURTS OF FORT BEND COUNTY, TEXAS 
PURSUANT TO ART.26.05, ET SEQ., TEXAS RULES OF CRIMINAL 
PROCEDURE (adopted August 16, 2017, by the Fort Bend County Council of Judges), 
which previous Plan and Supplement have heretofore governed the appointment and 
payment of counsel for indigent adult defendants in felony and misdemeanor cases. This 
Plan, when adopted, shall apply to magistrate and probable cause hearings and to the setting 
of bonds and is adopted in order to comply with the provisions and requirements of Art 
26.05, et seq., Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. In the event that the Task Force on 
Indigent Defense provides for requirements not contemplated by this Plan, this Plan shall 
be amended at the first opportunity. If there is any conflict between this Plan and any local 
rule that addresses the matters included herein, this Plan and the Texas Code of Criminal 
Procedure shall apply. 

 
I. 

PROMPT MAGISTRATION 
 

A. At the time of the magistrate and probable cause hearings, the arresting officer for 
each arrestee shall have filed, at the time of booking into the jail, a printed (by computer or 
email) and concise probable cause affidavit with such additional information (offense 
report, etc.) as necessary for the magistrate to make the appropriate judgment. “Arrestee” 
is defined herein as a person who is arrested with or without an indictment or information 
having been filed, and may sometimes be referred to herein as “Defendant.” No one shall 
be booked into jail without a filed “Probable Cause Affidavit.” Affidavits for a warrant for 
arrest must be faxed or delivered to the jail upon arrest from the arresting agency. If not 
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authorized to appoint counsel, the magistrate shall, without unnecessary delay but in no 
event longer than 24 hours after an arrestee’s arrest, transmit, or cause to be transmitted, to 
the proper appointing magistrate or appointing authority an arrestee’s request for counsel 
[Art. 15.17(a), CCP]. 

 
1. A Magistrate conducting magistrate and probable cause hearings, as 

provided for in these rules, shall be a Judge, Associate Judge or an assigned Judge 
designated by the appropriate Local Administrative Judge of Fort Bend County in 
order to ensure consistent compliance with all local rules and the Texas Code of 
Criminal Procedure. 

 
B. Each arrestee shall be brought before the magistrate within 48 hours of arrest. (Art. 
14.06(a), CCP).  The morning after arrest, at a time established by the magistrate, every 
felony and misdemeanor arrestee shall be brought to the magistrate jail courtroom, or other 
designated courtroom or place, for a magistrate to hold a probable cause hearing, to set bail 
and to determine the need for court appointed counsel. During the weekends, the magistrate 
shall hold magistrate and probable cause hearings at 11:00 am, or at some other time as 
determined by the magistrate, and the magistrate will timely advise the jail of such time 
and place in advance of the hearing(s). The jail shall have each arrestee and the necessary 
files and papers ready for review by the Magistrate at the jail courtroom, or other 
designated place, prior to the magistrate’s arrival. 

 
C. At the magistrate probable cause hearing for the arrestee, the magistrate judge 
shall make a written record of and comply with the provisions of this Plan and the 
requirements of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, including: 

 
1. Following the requirements of Art. 15.17 Texas Code of Criminal 

Procedure; 
2. Informing the arrestee of the right to appointment of counsel, if the 

arrestee is indigent; 
3. Making a written record of the magistrate warnings; 
4. Informing the arrestee of the right to an attorney; 
5. Inquiring of the arrestee as to whether or not the arrestee is requesting 

court appointed counsel; 
6. Providing arrestee with an affidavit of indigency and reasonable assistance 

in completing any necessary forms; and 
7. If required, making a referral of the arrestee to an appropriate local mental 

health or mental retardation authority, as required by Art. 16.22 (a) Texas 
Code of Criminal Procedure. 

 
The Magistrate shall use the “Magistrate Warning” form attached to this plan as 
“Addendum J”. The making of a record is satisfied by the use of the written form 
approved by the Council of Judges of Fort Bend County. 

 
D. At such magistrate hearings, each arrestee shall be provided an opportunity to 
request court appointed counsel. If the arrestee is claiming indigency, the arrestee shall 
complete and file a sworn affidavit of indigency with the magistrate, as set out herein as 
“Addendum E”. 
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E. The magistrate will send all requests for appointment of counsel by an indigent in 
felony cases, and in cases which both felony and misdemeanor charges are pending, to the 
Judge or Associate Judge responsible for arraignments. The magistrate will send all 
requests for appointment of attorney by an indigent in Misdemeanor cases to the 
appropriate Judge, or Associate Judge, for the County Courts at Law who will then assign 
such requests to the Ancillary County Court at Law Judge for such week. 

 
1. Such District Judge and the assigned Ancillary County Court at Law Judge, 

(or if the Ancillary County Court at Law Judge is not available or has not 
been assigned, the Administrative County Court at Law Judge), or the Court 
Services Coordinator, as the case may be, shall appoint attorneys from the 
approved, graduated list of attorneys not later than three (3) working days 
after receipt of such request for appointment of counsel. Appointments shall 
be on a rotating basis, except as otherwise provided by law. If an indigent 
person is arrested pursuant to indictment, the appointment will be made 
within one (1) working day after receipt of the request by the judge in whose 
court the case is filed. 

 
2. Any indigent arrestee charged with Capital Murder shall have attorney(s) 

appointed by the trial court assigned the case from the Eleventh 
Administrative Region approved list of attorneys qualified to try Capital 
Cases. Preference in the appointment shall be given to those qualified 
attorneys who have practiced in Fort Bend County, have knowledge of Fort 
Bend County local rules and who comply with the requirements of 
paragraphs VIII and IX of Addendum “A” attached hereto. 

 
3. Notice of appointment of counsel in all cases will be emailed to the 

appointed attorney and a telephone call shall be made by the Court Services 
Coordinator to the appointed attorney informing such attorney of the 
appointment. It is required that all attorneys on the approved Appointed 
Counsel for Indigent Defendants’ list maintain a valid email address for 
that attorney and provide such email address and current contact 
information to the Court Services Coordinator so that notification of 
appointments can be facilitated. 

 

F. For a person arrested on an out-of-county warrant, the magistrate shall:  ask if 
the person wants to request counsel; inform the person of the procedures for 
requesting counsel; and ensure the person is provided reasonable assistance in 
completing the necessary forms for requesting counsel in the county issuing the 
warrant. [Art. 15.18(a-1), CCP].  Requests for counsel made by persons arrested 
on out-of-county warrants shall be transmitted to the appointing authority of the 
county issuing the warrant within 24 hours of the request being made. [Art. 
15.18(a-1), CCP]. 
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II. 
 

INDIGENCY DETERMINATION STANDARDS 
 

The financial standards set forth below shall be used in determining whether an 
arrestee or defendant is considered indigent. 

 
A. A person is considered indigent if their net household income does not exceed 
125% of the federal poverty guideline for Annual Household Income (adjusted by 
number of persons in the household) as established and revised annually by the United 
States Department of Health and Human Services and published in the Federal Register. 
Those Poverty Guidelines may change from year to year and shall be calculated by the 
Court Services Coordinator for each calendar year to be used during that calendar year. 

 
B. The Indigent Defense Department of Fort Bend County shall interview each 
arrestee prior to the magistrate hearing and shall provide to the magistrate the 
following information: 

 
1. Financial information regarding the arrestee’s available income from all 

sources, including but not limited to, spouse and contributions from family 
members; 

 
2. Arrestee’s expenses, including but not limited to, living expenses, child 

support and alimony obligations, child care, medical expenses and 
transportation expenses; 

 
3. Assets including, but not  limited to, cash, savings and checking accounts, 

stocks, bonds, certificates of deposit, equity in real estate, personal 
property, and trust accounts; 

 
4. Information on whether or not the arrestee is conversant in English, and if 

not, the language spoken by the arrestee; and, whether or not the arrestee 
is deaf. The Pretrial Services Department shall, upon learning that an 
arrestee is deaf or unable to communicate in English, arrange for a 
qualified interpreter to be present when the arrestee is taken before the 
magistrate; and 

 
5. Information on whether or not there is reason to believe that the arrestee, if 

committed to the custody of the Fort Bend County Sheriff, has a mental 
illness, or is a person with mental retardation. The Sheriff shall notify the 
Indigent Defense Department and District Clerk not later than 72 hours after 
receiving evidence, whether by an oral statement or otherwise, that may 
establish reasonable cause to believe that an arrestee has a mental illness, 
or is a person with mental retardation. Such information shall be provided 
to the Magistrate in accordance with the provisions of Art. 16.22, Texas 
Code of Criminal Procedure.  The District Clerk shall put notice of this in 
formation in the Court’s file. 
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III. 
 

MINIMUM ATTORNEY QUALIFICATIONS FOR INDIGENT 
APPOINTMENT 

 
To be approved for inclusion on the list of attorneys qualified for appointment 

under this Plan for criminal cases in Fort Bend County, an attorney must complete the 
“Application for Criminal Appointments in Fort Bend County,” attached hereto as 
“Addendum C”, and be in compliance with the following requirements: 

 
A. Complete the required hours of CLE pertaining to the defense of defendants in 
criminal cases (whether felony as outlined in Addendum A or misdemeanor as outlined 
in Addendum B) in the preceding calendar year, as required by the current Fort Bend 
County Adult Plan and Local Rules for the Appointment of Counsel to Indigent 
Defendants in the District and County Courts at Law of Fort Bend County, Texas, 
Pursuant to Senate Bill 7 and the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.  The reporting 
period will begin on January 1, 2018, and on the same day of each year thereafter. 

 
1. Required continuing legal education may be satisfied by completing 

activities accredited under Section 4, Article XI, State Bar Rules, self- 
study, teaching at an accredited continuing legal education activity, 
attendance at a law school class or legal research-based writing; or 

 
2. By providing evidence of current certification (in good standing) of the 

attorney’s certification in criminal law by the Texas Board of Legal 
Specialization. 

 
3. Continuing legal education activity completed within a one-year period 

immediately preceding the adoption of this Plan may be used to meet the 
educational requirements for 2018. 

 
4. Continuing legal education activity completed during any reporting period 

in excess of the minimum ten hour requirement for such period may be 
applied to the following period's requirement. The carryover provision 
applies to one year only. 

 
B. To be approved for inclusion on the list of attorneys qualified for appointment under 
this Plan for criminal cases in Fort Bend County, each attorney shall submit “Addendum 
C” by October 15th for the 12 months ended September 30th (15 days prior to October 15th). 
[Art. 26.04(j)(4), CCP] Thereafter, attorneys qualified for appointment under this Plan shall 
be required to comply with the filing requirements described below in §III-B with respect 
to “Addendum H” and “Addendum I”.  Failure to submit “Addendum C” by October 15th 
will result in the denial of the attorney’s application. Those applications submitted in 
accordance with this section shall be approved or denied by the judiciary within sixty (60) 
days from the closing of October 15th.  The judiciary shall have the ability to extend the 
time to review applications by majority vote of the Council of Judges. 
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C. To continue on the appointment list, each attorney must annually submit an 
affidavit, attached hereto as “Addendum H”, to the Fort Bend County Court Services 
Coordinator, or designee, detailing the continuing legal education activities in criminal law 
which have been completed in the prior year. Alternatively, an attorney may annually 
submit documentation showing the attorney is currently certified as a specialist in criminal 
law using said addendum.  Every two years counsel must recertify their eligibility by 
submitting “Addendum I” 

 

D. Each attorney must: (1) maintain their primary residence in Fort Bend County, 
Texas; (2) maintain their principal law office in Fort Bend County, Texas, as listed on the 
State Bar of Texas website; or (3) have a fully executed formal agreement (the 
“Agreement”) to utilize conference room space, meeting space, or office space with a local 
attorney or business in Fort Bend County, Texas, where Counsel can privately meet with 
appointed clients. The Agreement must be furnished to the Indigent Defense Coordinator 
and approved by the Council of Judges prior to admittance to the Indigent Defense 
Appointment List.  Attorneys who have appeared in Fort Bend County on a consistent (i.e. 
monthly or quarterly) basis for the past ten (10) years while continually licensed by the 
State Bar of Texas shall have a one (1) year grace period to meet the aforementioned 
requirements of this section. 

 
IV. 

 
PROMPT APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL 

 

A. Counsel for indigent arrestees shall be appointed as soon as possible, but not later 
than the end of the first working day after the date on which the appointing judge, or 
person(s) designated by the judges to appoint counsel, receives an eligible defendant’s 
request for counsel. [Article 1.051(c), CCP] 

 
B. If an indigent defendant is released from custody prior to the appointment of 
counsel under the procedure contained in this Plan, appointment of counsel is not 
required until the defendant’s first court appearance, or when adversarial judicial 
proceedings are initiated, whichever comes first. [Article 1.051(j), CCP] 

 
C. The judge may not direct or encourage the arrestee to communicate with the 
attorney representing the State until the court advises the arrestee of the right to counsel 
and the procedure for requesting appointed counsel, and until the defendant has been given 
a reasonable opportunity to request appointed counsel, unless the arrestee has signed a 
valid, written waiver of the arrestee’s right to counsel, as hereinafter provided in 
“Addendum E”, attached hereto. [Art. 1.051(f-2), CCP] 

 

D. Persons arrested in other counties on local warrants shall be appointed counsel 
within 1 working day of receipt of the request from the arresting county. [Art. 1.051(c-
1), CCP] 

 

E. Persons arrested on out-of-county warrants shall be appointed counsel if the 
person has not been transferred or released to the custody of the county issuing the 
warrant before the 11th day after the date of the arrest. [Art. 1.051(c-1), CCP] 
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F. If an arrestee prefers to request counsel prior to the initial appearance before the 
magistrate, the forms required to request counsel may be obtained at the Texas Indigent 
Defense Commission’s website at http://tidc.tamu.edu/public.net/.  The arrestee shall 
then submit this completed form to the appointing authority (the county in which the 
warrant was issued). (1 TAC § 174.51) 

 
V. 
 

ATTORNEY SELECTION PROCESS 
 

All appointed counsel for criminal arrestees in Fort Bend County, in the District 
and County Courts at Law, in both felony and misdemeanor cases, shall be selected 
pursuant to the requirements of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 26.05, et seq., 
and this Plan, using a system of rotation from a list of approved counsel. The list of 
approved counsel, attorney qualifications, and/or any additional changes to this Plan may 
be updated and/or revised from time to time as necessary. 

 
A. Applications by attorneys who desire to be removed from consideration for 
appointment to represent indigent defendants shall be made on a “Request for Exclusion 
From Indigent Appointments, Fort Bend District and County Courts at Law”, attached 
hereto as “Addendum D”. 

 
B. Graduated Lists: The District and County Court at Law Judges trying criminal 
cases, or a committee established by same, shall approve a graduated list or lists of 
attorneys for appointment in felony and misdemeanor cases. Such list or lists shall be filed 
with the District and County Clerks. The lists of attorneys shall be reviewed at least 
annually by the Judges, or the committee appointed by same. Additional counsel shall be 
added to the various graduated lists only after approval by the appropriate judges, District 
or County Court at Law, as the case may be. 

 
C. Felony Appointments: In order to qualify as a court appointed attorney to 
represent indigent defendants in the District Courts, an attorney must meet the 
requirements set forth in “Addendum A” attached hereto and made a part hereof by 
reference. 

 
D. Misdemeanor Appointments: In order to qualify as a court appointed attorney to 
represent indigent defendants in the County Courts at Law, an attorney must meet the 
requirements set forth in “Addendum B”, attached hereto and made a part hereof by 
reference. 

 
E. Continuing Responsibilities: An attorney who is appointed to represent an 
indigent defendant, regardless of the degree of offense, is expected to represent that 
defendant through all pretrial, post-trial and appellate levels. In the event an appointed 
attorney desires to withdraw from representing an indigent defendant through the 
appellate process, such attorney shall promptly, upon completion of post-trial matters, 
move to withdraw with good and satisfactory cause cited and bring such motion to the 
immediate attention of the judge. 
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F. Adoption of Fee Schedules: Attorneys appointed by the Court to represent 
indigents shall receive such reasonable compensation as established by Order of the Board 
of District Judges of Fort Bend County and by Order of the Board of County Court at Law 
Judges of Fort Bend County. The fee schedules adopted by formal action of each of such 
Board of Judges shall comply with Art. 26.05(c) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, and 
any other applicable law, and shall be sent to the Commissioners Court of Fort Bend 
County, Texas, as required by statute. Such fee schedules are attached hereto as 
“Addendum F” and “Addendum G”. 

 
G. Reasonable and Necessary Expenses:  The appointment of and reimbursement 
for reasonable and necessary investigation, mental health, and other expert witness 
expenses shall be as provided by Art. 26.05(d) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure and only 
upon written motion and prior approval of the trial Judge. The appointment of and 
reimbursement for reasonable and necessary investigation, mental health, and other expert 
witness expenses without prior written approval, as provided by Art. 26.052(h) Texas Code 
of Criminal Procedure, shall be paid pursuant to said statute.  A timely, complete, and true 
statement of expenses incurred by the person appointed shall be submitted to the trial judge 
with the request for reimbursement. 

 
 
 
 

IV. 
 

STANDARDS AND RESPONSIBILITIES FOR 
ATTORNEYS 

 
A. An attorney appointed to represent indigents shall make every reasonable effort 
to contact the defendant not later than the end of the first working day after appointment 
and to interview the defendant as soon afterwards as practicable.  In-person or secure 
video conferencing with incarcerated defendants is preferred during this initial contact.  
Sending only a letter to an incarcerated defendant in this circumstance should only be used 
as a last alternative.  
 
B. An attorney who appears on the approved list of attorneys qualified to receive 
appointments to represent indigents must maintain a place of business with a phone which 
is answered during regular business hours and from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm on the weekends 
and holidays. Such attorney shall make arrangements so that the attorney may be promptly 
located and notified of appointment or hearing settings. Attorneys on the approved list 
must maintain an email address which shall be operational 24 hours a day, seven days a 
week. These numbers and email addresses shall be included on the Application for 
Criminal Appointments in Fort Bend County and shall be the official contact information 
utilized by the Court to inform counsel of appointment or court hearings. Any change in 
this contact information must be given in writing to the Administrative Court Services 
Coordinator for Fort Bend County within 24-hours of the change. 
 



Page 9 of 11 

C. Attorneys appearing on the approved list shall comply with all laws, rules, 
procedure and ethical provisions for providing reasonable assistance of counsel to their 
client. 
 
D. Attorneys appearing on the approved list shall maintain the highest standard of 
ethical conduct and always be completely candid with the Court. 
 
E. A judge may replace an appointed attorney if the appointed attorney does not 
make an effort to contact the defendant by the end of the first working day, and/or does 
not interview the defendant as soon as possible, and/or for any other suitable reason, as 
determined by the judge. The court may sanction an attorney for violation of these 
standards. 
 
F. Counsel may be suspended or removed from the appointment list if they are found 
to be ineffective by a Court or for other good cause shown.  The Courts may temporarily 
suspend counsel from receiving appointments until a final determination on the 
suspension can be made that includes an opportunity for counsel to respond. 

 

G. Counsel shall timely complete and submit their yearly attorney time report to the 
Texas Indigent Defense Counsel.  Failure to comply can result in suspension or removal 
from the appointment list.   

 
VII. 

 
FEE AND EXPENSE PAYMENT PROCESS 

 
A. Payment for Appointed Counsel in Criminal cases shall be in accordance with a 
schedule of fees adopted by the judges pursuant to Art. 26.05(b), Texas Code of Criminal 
Procedure, copies of which are attached hereto as “Addendum F” and “Addendum G”. 
The schedules may be modified from time to time by the appropriate Board of Judges. 

 
B. If a judge disapproves the requested amount of payment, the judge shall make 
written findings stating the amount that the judge approves and each reason for approving 
an amount different from the requested amount, pursuant to Art. 26.05(c), Texas Code of 
Criminal Procedure. 

 
C. Reasonable and Necessary Expenses 

 
1. The appointment of and reimbursement for reasonable and necessary 

investigation, mental health, and other expert witness expenses with prior Court approval 
shall be as provided by Art. 26.05(d) and Art. 26.052(f) and (g) Texas Code of Criminal 
Procedure and only upon written motion and prior approval of the trial judge. A timely, 
complete, and true statement of expenses incurred by the person appointed shall be 
submitted to the trial judge with the request for reimbursement by appointed counsel, 
including a certification by said counsel that the expenses were duly rendered by the said 
claimant. 
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2. The appointment of and reimbursement for reasonable and necessary 
investigation, mental health, and other expert witness expenses without prior written 
approval, as provided by Art. 26.05(d) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, shall be paid 
pursuant to said statute, and Art. 26.052(h) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. A 
t imely ,  complete, and true statement of expenses incurred by the person appointed shall 
be submitted to the trial judge with the request for reimbursement by appointed counsel, 
including a certification by said counsel that the expenses were duly rendered by the said 
claimant. 

 
3. A request for advance payment of investigative and expert expenses may 

be made by appointed counsel Ex Parte. Appointed counsel may file with the trial judge 
a pretrial, ex parte, and confidential request for advance payment of investigative and 
expert expenses. The request for such expenses must state, as applicable: 

 
a. The type of investigation to be conducted or the type of expert to 

be retained; 
b. The specific facts that suggest the investigation will result in 

admissible evidence or that the services of an expert are reasonably 
necessary to assist in the preparation of a potential defense; and 

c. An itemized list of anticipated expenses for each investigation or 
each expert. 

 
The judge may grant such Ex Parte request for advance payment of expenses, in whole 
or in part, if the request is reasonable. If the judge denies in whole or in part the request 
for expenses, the judge shall: 

 
a. State the reasons for the denial in writing; 
b. Attach the denial to the confidential request; and 
c. Submit the request and denial as a sealed exhibit to the record. 

 
4. Unreasonable or unnecessary expenses will not be approved. 
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VIII. 
MISCELLANEOUS 

 

ATTACHED FORMS: 
 
Addendum A: Qualifications of Appointed Counsel for Indigent Defendants-Fort 

Bend County District Courts 
Addendum B: Qualifications of Appointed Counsel for Indigent 

Defendants – Fort Bend County Courts at Law 
Addendum C: Application for Criminal Appointments in Fort Bend County 
Addendum D: Request for Exclusion from Indigent Appointments – District and 

Fort Bend County Courts at Law 
Addendum E: Affidavit and Request for Appointed Counsel or Waiver of 

Counsel 
Addendum F: District Court Attorney Fee / Expense Claim and Certification – 

Fair Defense Act (and District Court Fee Schedule) 
Addendum G: County Court at Law Attorney Fee/Expense Claim and 

Certification (County Courts at Law Fee Schedule) 
Addendum H: Annual Affidavit Confirming CLE and Requesting to be Continued 

on Indigent Appointment List for Fort Bend District and County 
Courts at Law 

Addendum I: Recertification Form 
Addendum J: Magistrate’s Warning; Art. 15.17 Texas Code of Criminal 

Procedure 



 

The above and foregoing “SIXTH AMENDED FORT BEND COUNTY ADULT 
PLAN AND LOCAL RULES FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL TO 
INDIGENT DEFENDANTS IN THE DISTRICT AND COUNTY COURTS OF FORT 
BEND COUNTY, TEXAS, PURSUANT TO ART. 26.05, ET SEQ., TEXAS RULES OF 
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE" was considered at a regularly called Council of Judges Meeting 
by those judges whose jurisdiction includes criminal (felony and misdemeanor) cases, as set 
out below. 

 
APPROVED and ADOPTED this the 12th day of December, 2018. 

 
District Court Judges: 

 

 
  

Chad Bridges Brady G. Elliott 
Judge, 240th District Court Judge, 268th District Court  

 
 
 
 

  

Ronald R. Pope Brenda Mullinix 
Judge, 328th District Court Judge, 387th District Court 

 
 
 
 

  

Maggie Jaramillo James H. Shoemake 
400th District Court 434th District Court 

 
 
   ________________________________________________________    

Kenneth Cannata David Perwin 
458th District Court 505th District Court 

 
County Court at Law Judges: 

 
 
 

  

Christopher G. Morales Jeffrey A. McMeans 
Judge, Fort Bend County Court at Law, #1 Judge, Fort Bend County Court at Law, #2 

 
 
 
 

  

Susan G. Lowery Toni Wallace 
Judge, Fort Bend County Court at Law, #3 Judge, Fort Bend County Court at Law, #4 

 
 
   

  
  

 Pedro Ruiz Sherman Hatton 
 Judge, Fort Bend County Court at Law, #5 Judge, Fort Bend County Court at Law, #6 

 
 
 
 
 



 

 
 

QUALIFICATIONS OF APPOINTED 
COUNSEL FOR INDIGENT DEFENDANTS  

FORT BEND COUNTY 
DISTRICTCOURTS 

 
QUALIFICATIONS OF APPOINTED COUNSEL 
FOR INDIGENT DEFENDANTS FORT BEND 

COUNTY DISTRICT COURTS – ADDENDUM A 

 

I. 

All Matters Where the Death Penalty is Sought: 

Death Penalty cases will be assigned from the 11th Administrative Region list. 

II. 

Generally as to all other Felonies: 

1. Counsel must have a location in Fort Bend County where they can meet privately with appointed 

clients.  

2. Counsel must be proficient in the use of Fort Bend County’s e-Discovery portal and counsel must 

be able to e-File documents with the Fort Bend County District Clerk.  

3. Counsel must appear for ALL court settings on appointed cases.  If there is a scheduling 

conflict with a court setting, counsel must contact the Court prior to the setting.  

4. Failure to appear three times without timely notice can result in removal from that case and 

removal from the appointment list.  If another counsel will appear for appointed counsel, that 

appearance must be noted on the fee voucher.  If another counsel appears for appointed counsel 

and performs any substantive legal work, they must be qualified to handle that level of offense. 

  



 

5. Counsel must have a secretary, receptionist, answering service, or a cell phone with texting 

capabilities.  Counsel must have an active e-mail account to receive court appointments and 

notices regarding procedural changes. Counsel must respond promptly to communications from 

the Court. 

6. Counsel must register a phone number consistent with the requirement above with the Fort Bend 

County Sheriff to prevent any attorney client phone calls with incarcerated clients from being 

recorded. 

7. If the level of offense changes when a case is indicted and appointed counsel is not qualified for 

that level of offense, counsel shall contact the indigent defense coordinator so that an attorney 

from the appropriate list can be substituted.  

8. Proof of required experience can be shown through court documents.  If those documents are 

unavailable due to an expunction or non-disclosure order, then affidavits are acceptable. Other 

significant experience in contested matters may be submitted for consideration.   

9. Proof of required experience is cyclical.  Counsel must obtain the minimum amount of trial 

experience every two years.  Proof of qualification for a higher level offense constitutes 

qualification for a lower level offense. 

10. Counsel may be suspended or removed from the appointment list if they are found to be ineffective 

by a court or for other good cause shown.  The Courts may temporarily suspend counsel from 

receiving appointments until a final determination on the suspension can be made that includes 

an opportunity for counsel to respond. 

11. Counsel can request the Court for the appointment of a second chair.  Upon the Court’s approval, 

the second chair will be appointed and the indigent defense coordinator will be notified.  Lead 

Counsel will be responsible for the work of the second chair.  The second chair will paid at a 

lower rate than the lead counsel. 

 

   



 

III. 
 
 

All 3g Offenses: 

Five (5) years licensed to practice law and 

a. One (1) jury verdict as lead counsel in this level offense; or 

b. Five (5) jury verdicts (with 3 verdicts as lead counsel) of any 1st  degree felony offense 

IV. 

1st Degree Felonies (Other than above‐ listed Felony Offenses)  

and offenses enhanced to a 1st Degree Penalty Range: 

Four (4) years licensed to practice law and 

a. One (1) jury verdict as lead counsel on a 1st degree felony indictment; or 

b. Five (5) jury verdicts (3 verdicts as lead counsel) of any degree felony offenses 

 

V. 

2nd and 3rd Degree Felonies Not Described Above: 

Two (2) years licensed to practice law and 

a. One (l) jury verdict as lead counsel, on any felony indictment; or 

b. Two (2) jury verdicts as co‐counsel, on any felony indictments; or 

c. Five (5) jury verdicts as lead counsel, on any misdemeanor offenses 

 

VI. 

State Jail Felonies, Motion to Revoke Probation or Motion to Adjudicate Guilt on Misdemeanors: 

Two (2) years licensed to practice law and 

a. One (1) jury verdict as lead counsel, on any felony indictment; or 

b. Two (2) jury verdicts as co-counsel, on any felony indictments; or 

c. Five (5) jury verdicts as lead counsel, on any misdemeanor offenses 

VII. 

Appeals – Non‐Death Penalty 

   Three (3) years licensed to practice law, and authored or co-authored three (3) appellate briefs 

 



 

VIII. 
 

Continuing Legal Education - All Felony and Misdemeanor Non-Appellate Appointments: 

In addition to the appropriate categories listed above: 

a. Completion of the "Fort Bend County Rules of Court” CLE Course; and 

 
b. Completion within the past three (3) calendar years of thirty (30) hours of CLE in 

Criminal Law, including courses on examination of expert witnesses and presentation 
of scientific evidence; and 

 
c. Annually, after being approved on the Indigent Appointment List, completion of 

fifteen (15) hours of CLE in Criminal Law, including courses on examination of expert 
witnesses and presentation of scientific evidence 

 

IX. 

Appeals: All other Felony Convictions All Misdemeanor Convictions: 

In addition to the appropriate categories listed above: 

a. Completion  of  the  Completion of the "Fort Bend County Rules of Court” CLE 
Course; and 

 
b. Completion within the past three (3) calendar years of thirty (30) hours of CLE in 

Criminal Law, including courses on appellate issues; and 

 
c. Annually, after being approved on the Indigent Appointment List, completion of 

fifteen (15) hours of CLE in Criminal Law, including courses on appellate issues 

  



 

QUALIFICATIONS OF APPOINTED COUNSEL AND FEE SCHEDULE 
FOR INDIGENT DEFENDANTS 

FORT BEND COUNTY COURTS AT LAW 
 

ADDENDUM B 
 

I.  
 

ATTORNEY OF THE DAY APPOINTMENTS 

 

1.  Attorney of the Day.  The County Courts at Law may retain the services of an attorney, 

meeting the minimum requirements for Level 2 Offenses or higher under the 

Qualifications of Appointed Counsel and Fee Schedule for Indigent Defendants – Fort 

Bend County Courts at Law, to assist with administrative functions during the dockets 

of the assigning Court. 

II.  
 

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL MISDEMEANOR APPOINTMENTS 

 

1.  E-Discovery & E-File.  Counsel must be proficient in the use of Fort Bend County’s e-Discovery 

portal and counsel must be able to e-File documents with the Fort Bend County Clerk in all 

misdemeanor cases.  

2.  Appearance of Counsel.  Counsel must appear for ALL court settings on appointed cases.  If there is 

a scheduling conflict with a court setting, counsel must contact the Court prior to the setting. 

Failure to appear two times without timely notice, in accordance with the plan and individual 

Court requirements, can result in removal from that case and/or removal from the appointment 

list.  If another counsel will appear for appointed counsel, regardless if the counsel appearing is 

of the same firm as appointed counsel, that appearance must be noted on the fee voucher.  If 

another counsel appears for appointed counsel and performs any substantive legal work, they must 

be qualified to handle that level of offense. 

  



 

3.  Notice and Response.  If the level of offense changes when a case is indicted and appointed counsel 

is not qualified for that level of offense, counsel shall contact the indigent defense coordinator so 

that an attorney from the appropriate list can be substituted. Counsel must respond promptly to 

communications from the Court. 

4.  Proof of Experience & Annual Requirements. 

(a) Proof of required experience may be presented to the Indigent Defense Coordinator 

through court records.  If those records are unavailable due to an expunction or non-

disclosure order, then affidavits outlining the substance of the unavailable records 

will be acceptable. Other significant experience in contested matters may be 

submitted for consideration.   

(b) Counsel must meet the minimum amount of trial experience every three years.  

Failure to timely provide proof of this experience will cause the attorney to be 

suspended from the appointment list.  After 60 days of non-compliance, the attorney 

will be removed from the appointment list and will be required to reapply.  Proof of 

qualification for a higher level offense constitutes qualification for a lower level 

offense.   

(c) Counsel must provide proof of CLE every year at a time designated by the Indigent 

Defense Coordinator.  Failure to provide proof of the prior year’s CLE will cause the 

attorney to be suspended from the appointment list.  After 60 days of non-compliance, 

the attorney will be removed from the appointment list and will be required to reapply.   

5.  Second Chair Program.  Counsel can request the Court for the appointment of a second chair.  Upon 

the Court’s approval, the second chair will be appointed and the SB7 coordinator will be notified.  

Lead Counsel will be responsible for the work of the second chair.  The second chair will paid at 

a lower rate than lead counsel, to be determined by the Court. 

 
  



 

III. 
 

SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS FOR MISDEMEANOR APPOINTMENTS 
 

  
1.  Level 1 Offenses 

 
(a)  Charges.  Level 1 Offenses shall consist of Class A & B DWI charges, Assault Cause Bodily 

Injury Family Violence and Crimes of Moral Turpitude. 

(b)  Qualifications.  An attorney must have been licensed for at least two (2) years, and: 

1.  First chaired one (1) jury trial to verdict; 

2.  Have experience in cross-examination of expert witnesses; 

3.  Attended fifteen (15) hours of CLE on criminal matters within the previous calendar 

year; 

4.  Attended CLE on HGN, blood testing, drug testing, or breath testing; 

5.  Conducted one (1) evidentiary hearing; and  

6.  Met all other standards within the Fort Bend County Adult Plan and Local Rules for 

the Appointment of Counsel to Indigent Defendants in the District and County Courts of 

Fort Bend County, Texas Pursuant to Senate Bill 7 and the Texas Rules of Criminal 

Procedure. 

 
2.  Level 2 Offenses 

(a)  Charges.  Level 2 Offenses shall consist of all Class A charges, not listed in Level 1 Offenses. 

(b)  Qualifications.  An attorney must have been licensed for at least one (1) year, and: 

1.  First or second chaired one (1) jury trial to verdict, or conducted two (2) evidentiary 

hearings; 

2.  Viewed Practicing in Fort Bend County video in the Fort Bend County Law Library; 

3.  Attended fifteen (15) hours of CLE on criminal matters within the previous calendar 

year; and  

5.  Met all other standards within the Fort Bend County Adult Plan and Local Rules for 

the Appointment of Counsel to Indigent Defendants in the District and County Courts of 

Fort Bend County, Texas Pursuant to Senate Bill 7 and the Texas Rules of Criminal 

Procedure. 



 

 
3.  Level 3 Offenses 

(a)  Charges.  Level 3 Offenses shall consist of all Class B charges, not listed in Level 1 Offenses. 

(b)  Qualifications.  An attorney must have been licensed by the State Bar of Texas, and: 

1.  Viewed Practicing in Fort Bend County video in the Fort Bend County Law Library; 

3.  Attended ten (10) hours of CLE on criminal matters within the previous six (6) months; 

4.  Conducted one (1) evidentiary hearing; and  

5.  Met all other standards within the Fort Bend County Adult Plan and Local Rules for 

the Appointment of Counsel to Indigent Defendants in the District and County Courts of 

Fort Bend County, Texas Pursuant to Senate Bill 7 and the Texas Rules of Criminal 

Procedure.  



 

APPLICATION FOR CRIMINAL 
APPOINTMENTS IN FORT BEND COUNTY 

ADDENDUM C 

Please type      

ATTORNEY CONTACT INFORMATION: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

BUSINESS PHONE NO.: FAX NO.: WEB ADDRESS: 
     

CELLULAR NO. HOME PHONE NO.: E-MAIL ADDRESS: 
     

BUSINESS FB PAGE: BUSINESS TWITTER PAGE: OTHER BUSINESS  MEDIA: 

     

 
PHYSICAL ADDRESS  

MAILING ADDRESS  

ATTORNEY PROFILE INFORMATION: 

1.  Are you currently in good standing with the State Bar of Texas?     

2.  Have you attended the “Practicing in the Fort Bend Courts” seminar?  When?     

3.  Have you ever been sanctioned by the State Bar of Texas or any other State bar?  Include any 

reprimands, and suspensions (active or probated).   If yes, attach decisions by the committee. 

4.  Have you ever admitted to giving or been deemed to have provided ineffective assistance of counsel   

in connection with an official proceeding? Have you been sanctioned in writing by a Court?  If so, explain by 

attaching any applicable documents and, if desired, any written explanations. 

5.  How many open criminal files are in your current caseload?         

6.  What percentage of your total law practice is in criminal law? 

7.        What percentage of your practice consists of criminal appointments?   

8.  Approximately how many criminal cases have you tried to conclusion before a jury?   

LAST NAME  

FIRST NAME  

BAR CARD NO.:  



 

9.  Of those felony trials, how many were you first chair? 

  Which Level:    ______  1st Degree       ______  2d or 3d Degree        ______ State Jail 

10.  Of those felony trials, how many were you second chair?   

            Which Level :    _____  1st Degree       ______   2d or 3d Degree       ______ State Jail 

   11.  Of those misdemeanor trials, how many were you first chair?   

   12.  Of those misdemeanor trials, how many were you second chair?  

   13.  How many Sexual Assault and Indecency Offenses have you been lead counsel:   

   14.  How many DWI Related Offenses have you been lead counsel:   

   15.  How many Drug Offenses have you been lead counsel:   

   16.  How many Property Crimes have you been lead counsel:  

   17.  How many Assaultive Offenses have you been lead counsel :   

   18.           Are there any other circumstances that may  interfere with your ability to practice  law?   Examples 

include pending criminal charges, convictions or probations for crimes of moral turpitude and anything else 

that might reflect negatively on your addition to the appointment list.  Please attach any explanations to this 

application on a separate sheet. 

19.  I want to be considered for appointments ONLY in the Fort Bend County Courts at Law.    

               _____  Yes  _____  No   

20.  I only want to be considered for appointments ONLY in the Fort Bend District Courts. 

  _____  Yes  _____  No 

21.  I want to be considered for Felony Appointments for only the following lists: 

             ________________________________________________________________________ 

22.  I want to be considered for appointments in both County Courts at Law and District Courts. 

               _____  Yes  _____  No 

23.  Please attach all judgments, appellate briefs or orders that indicate you meet the minimum experience 

qualifications for each appointment list you wish to join.  If these documents are sealed or expunged, please 

attach an affidavit documenting your relevant work.   

24.      Please attach a copy of your entire profile page from the Texas State Bar website and your full CLE 

transcript for the past three years from the Texas State Bar website.  

25.       Please attach a recent passport size photograph.   



 

   26.       Please attach any other documents or statements that describe anything that you wish to include for 

consideration that you feel makes you uniquely qualified to accept appointments in Fort Bend County cases 

(e.g. participation  in  criminal  law mentoring programs; prosecutorial experience; AV  rated by Martindale‐

Hubbell, awards, or any other recognition for professional competence) 

 

 

I certify that I have read the requirements to be placed on the appointment lists and that I do possess 

the necessary qualifications for appointment as an attorney for indigent defendants in Fort Bend County 

for the following categories: 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

By my signature below, I swear or affirm that the  information provided  in this application  is true and 

correct.  I understand that I have a continuing to alert the Courts if any of my answers above change in 

a way that would affect my ability to receive appointments. 

 

_____________________________________     

Applicant’s Signature      Date 

 

_____________________________________ 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me on the ___  day of  ___________________, 20___      

 

 

Notary Public in and for the State of Texas 

 

   



 

 

 

REQUEST FOR EXCLUSION FROM INDIGENT 
APPOINTMENTS 

DISTRICT AND FORT BEND COUNTY COURTS AT LAW 

ADDENDUM D 
 

I, (print or type name), do hereby 
make the following statements under oath and request that my name be EXCLUDED 
from the list of licensed attorneys eligible for appointment to indigent defendants 
charged with criminal offenses in Fort Bend County, Texas, for the following 
reason(s): (check ALL that apply) 

 

( ) I am disqualified from representing indigent defendants charged with criminal 
offenses in Fort Bend County due to my employment with a governmental 
entity; 

( ) I am retired or not currently in the active practice of law in the State of Texas; 

( ) I state that the following is good cause for my name to be EXCLUDED from 
the list of licensed attorneys eligible for court appointment to indigent 
defendants charged with criminal offenses in Fort Bend County, Texas, to wit: 

 
 
 

Executed this the day of ,20 
   

 

 
 

Attorney Name 
Bar Number:     

 
 

Sworn to me before on this  the day of ,20     
 

 
 

Notary Public 
 

APPROVED:    
 
 

DENIED:    

  
Local Administrative 
Judge 



AFFIDAVIT AND REQUEST FOR APPOINTED COUNSEL 
OR 

WAIVER OF COUNSEL 
THE STATE OF TEXAS § 

 
COUNTY OF FORT BEND § 

 

ADDENDUM E 

 

“My name is , and, having been duly 
sworn, I make this statement under oath. “I have been charged with the following offense(s): 

 
OFFENSE: DEGREE: CAUSE #:    

 

OFFENSE: DEGREE: CAUSE #:    
 

OFFENSE: DEGREE: CAUSE #:    
 

OFFENSE: DEGREE: CAUSE #:    
 

“I have been advised by the undersigned magistrate, or designee, of my right to representation by counsel in the 
trial of the offense(s) pending against me in a language that I understand, AND (Defendant to initial only ONE 
selection, below): 

 

  I DO REQUEST THE COURT TO APPOINT ME COUNSEL 
“I hereby do swear that I am indigent and have no financial means to employ counsel of my own choosing and I 
request the Court to appoint counsel for me.” 

 
 

OR; Defendant 
 

  I DO NOT REQUEST THE COURT TO APPOINT ME COUNSEL AND I WAIVE THE RIGHT 
TO APPOINTED COUNSEL 
“The magistrate has asked me if I want to request the appointment of counsel. I do not request the Court to 
appoint counsel for me at this time.” 

 

OR;  
 

Defendant 
 

  I ALREADY HAVE COUNSEL AND I WAIVE THE RIGHT TO APPOINTED COUNSEL 
“By my signature below, I certify to the Court that I already have an appointed / retained attorney representing 
me in respect to the above referenced offense(s).” 

 
 

 

Defendant 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, on this the day of 
 

  , 20 , to certify which witness my hand. 
 
 

 

LANGUAGE: Spanish: Other: MAGISTRATE PRESIDING 

  

 

REMARKS: 
 

 
 
 

 



FEE SCHEDULE: 
1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
7. 

FELONY CASE – DISPOSITION 
MAXIMUM FOR OUT-OF-COURT TIME 
FELONY APPEAL 
CAPITAL MURDER (DEATH PENALTY) 
a. FIRST CHAIR 
b. SECOND CHAIR 

EACH DOCKET CALL (W/O DISPOSITION) 
TRANSLATOR/INTERPRETER – NOT TO 
EXCEED HOURLY RATE FOR APPOINTED 
COUNSEL IN FELONY CASE 
EXPERT AND/OR INVESTIGATIVE FEES SHALL 
BE PAID PURSUANT TO ART. 26.052(f)(g)(h) 

$100-200/HOUR
$1500 
$100- 150/HOUR
 
$35,000 
$15,000 

5. 
6. 

$ 50

*
*

DISTRICT COURT:    [ ADDENDUM F ] 
 

CAUSE NUMBER(S) / LIST ALL: DEFENDANT:    
 

ATTORNEY’S FEE / EXPENSE CLAIM AND CERTIFICATION – FAIR DEFENSE ACT 
FEE SCHEDULE ADOPTED UNDER ARTICLES 26.05:38:30 38.31 C.C.P. AS AMENDED (REVISED: 12-19-02) 

 

INSTRUCTIONS: 
1. Itemize time spent in Court and note if time was spent for Docket Call. 
2. Allocate time separately (if multiple indigent clients) for all fees claimed. 
3. Bill time in .25 hour (fifteen minute) increments and carefully calculate totals. 
4. Itemize (legibly all time expended, whether in or out of Court. 
5. ALWAYS note on this form whether or not the defendant has been ordered to 
repay attorney’s fees, or place “$0” in the blank provided. 

  * * * 
THE COURT MAY APPROVE ADDITIONAL 
EXPENDITURES UPON GOOD CAUSE SHOWN AND 
RESERVES THE DISCRETION TO DEVIATE UPWARD OR 
DOWNWARD IN AWARDING AN ATTORNEY  FEE 
(WHETHER BY THE HOUR OR BY THE TOTAL AWARDED 
FEE) DEPENDING ON THE TIME AND LABOR REQUIRED 
THE COMPLEXITY OF THE CASE. AND THE 
EXPERIENCE AND ABILITY OF THE APPOINTED 
COUNSEL 

 
 

NAME – PRINT OR TYPE 

MAILING ADDRESS 

BARCODE NUMBER AMOUNT DEFENDANT ORDERED
TO REPAY 

$ 

ATTORNEY CONTACTS 
WITH DEFENDANT 

IN PERSON? BY TELPHONE? 

 
APPOINTED COUNSEL HOURLY WORKSHEET 

 
 

Date 
DOCKET 
CALL? 

BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF WORK PERFORMED FOR THIS DEFENDANT ON ALL CASES APPOINTED (OR 
ATTACH A FULLY ITEMIZED STATEMENT OF WORK PEFORMED SUBJECT TO THE PENALTY 

PROVISIONS HEREIN)

HOURS 
(BY .25) 

       

       

       

       

TOTAL – THIS PAGE ONLY  

GRAND TOTAL – THIS PAGE AND ALL SUBSEQUENT PAGES (IF ANY)  

 

CERTIFICATION BY ATTORNEY 
On the date submitted, the undersigned Attorney at Law, under penalty of perjury states, to wit: that the attorney has competently represented the named defendant 
and has fully performed the services claimed above, and on all attached Subsequent Hourly Worksheets and/or itemized billing statements which are all incorporated 
herein by reference: that the attorney has not received and will not receive any money or valuable thing for representing the said defendant, unless such payment is 
disclosed in writing to the judge before whom this application is pending, and that no other request for payment fore the described services rendered has been paid. 

 

DATE SUBMITTED:     

 
ORDER 

 
ATTORNEY AT LAW 

 

The Court finds that the total sum of $ is reasonable and necessary attorney’s fee and ORDERS it paid; OR 
 

The Court REJECTS said claim for the following reason(s)    
 

Entered this the - day of , 20_   _,    
JUDGE PRESIDING 

 
PAGE OF    

 

ORIGINAL / CLERKS FILE – WHITE AUDITOR’S COPY - YELLOW 



DEFANDANT    CAUSE NO.    

 
 

SUBSEQUENT PAGE 
APPOINTED COUNSEL HOURLY WORKSHEET 

INSTRUCTIONS: List Date and denote Time in Tenths of an hour in appropriate category 
APPEALS: List in Hours in “Out-of-Court” Column and identify appellate work performed under “Brief Description of Services” 

 
 
 
 

DATE 

 
 

GENERAL (BRIEF) DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES 
PERFORMED 

ON THE DATE FOR WHICH PAYMENT IS REQUESTED 

HOURS IN COURT HOURS 
OUT OF 
COURT

COURT
APPEARANCE 

 
 

NO TESTIMONY 

PRE-TRIAL 
HEARING 

 
WITH 

TESTIMONY 

TRIAL 
 
 

WITH 
TESTIMONY 

 

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

PAGE TOTALS: (INCLUDE ALL SUBSEQUENT PAGE TOTALS ON COVER PAGE)        

 
ORIGINAL / CLERK’S FILE – WHITE PAGE OF    AUDITOR’S COPY YELLOW 



 

ATTORNEY’S FEE/EXPENSE CLAIM AND CERTIFICATION 
Fee schedule adopted under Articles 26.05; 38.30; 38.31 C.C.P., as amended (Revised 11-01-2017) 

ADDENDUM G 
 
COUNTY COURT AT LAW NO.:_______ CAUSE NO.:___________________  DATE SUBMITTED:____________________ 

 
DEFENDANT:___________________________________________________CHARGE:__________________________________ 
 
COMPANION CAUSE NUMBER(S):____________________________________________ OFFENSE LEVEL:___________ 
 

ATTORNEY PERSONAL INFORMATION 
 

NAME: 

 

 

BAR CARD NUMBER: 

 

MAILING ADDRESS: 

 

 

TELEPHONE NUMBER:

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 
1. Time shall be billed in TENTH of an hour in each category.   
2. One (1) defendant and one (1) charge shall be billed per Attorney’s Fee/Expense Claim and Certification. 
3. The entire form must be completed in ink and legible.  In the alternative, an attorney may attach two (2) detailed itemized invoices that denote the same categories 

below, instead of handwriting a description of the work performed.  Regardless of the submitted format, this form must be completed.  
4. Submit paid bills for Investigators/Experts with this form.  Expert and/or Investigative Fees shall be paid pursuant to CCP Art.§ 26.05(d)  & §26.052(f)(g)(h). 
5. APPEALS:  List hours in “Out of Court” column and identify appellate work performed under “Brief Description of Services” 

FEE SCHEDULE 
LEVEL 1 OFFENSES: $65.00 - $150.00/ hour         LEVEL 2 OFFENSES: $65.00 - $125.00/hour           LEVEL 3 OFFENSES: $65.00 - $100.00/hour 
1. Maximum for Out of Court Time (unless good cause is shown): $1500.00 
2. Maximum for each Docket Call Without Disposition: $100.00 
3. The Court may approve additional expenditures upon good cause shown and reserves the discretion to deviate upward or downward in awarding attorney fees, 

depending on the time and labor required, the complexity of the case, and the experience and ability of the appointed attorney. 

 

 
TOTAL HOURS:    ______________ 
 

 

 
HOURS IN COURT 

HOURS OUT 
OF COURT 

 
DATE 

 
BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES PERFORMED 

COURT 
APPEARANCES 

NO 
TESTIMONY 

PRE-TRIAL 
HEARING 

WITH 
TESTIMONY 

TRIAL 
WITH 

TESTIMONY 

 

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

TOTAL FROM ALL SUBSEQUENT PAGES (IF ANY) 
 

    

GRAND TOTAL (THIS PAGE AND ALL SUBSEQUENT PAGES) 
 

    

PUNISHMENT ASSESSED (INCLUDE AMOUNT DEFENDANT ORDERED TO REPAY): 
 
 
 
 

 
 I, the undersigned Attorney at Law, swear or affirm to the Court and to the County Auditor that they may rely upon the information contained in this Appointed Counsel Hourly Worksheet 
(whether one or more pages) to make payment to me according to the fee schedule adopted by the Board of County Court at Law Judges and the Council of Judges pursuant to Article 26.05 C.C.P.  I 
further swear or affirm that I have not received nor will I receive any other money or valuable thing for representing the accused in this case, except as otherwise specifically disclosed to the Court in 
writing. 
 
 SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on this the ___________day of ___________________________, 20__________. 
 
_____________________________________________     ___________________________________________ 
ATTORNEY AT LAW (Signature)       DEPUTY COUNTY CLERK (Signature) 
 

 The Court finds that the sum of $__________________ is a reasonable and necessary Attorney’s Fee/Expense Claim for performing the above stated services and ORDERS that same be 
paid from the General Fund of Fort Bend County, Texas // OR 

 
The Court REJECTS said Attorney’s Fee/Expense Claim for the following reason(s):_________________________________________________________ 

 
 SIGNED this the ___________day of ______________________________, 20_________. 
 

 
_________________________________________ 

          JUDGE PRESIDING 
ORIGINAL/CLERK’S FILE - WHITE    PAGE ________ OF _________     AUDITOR’S COPY - YELLOW 



 

 

ORIGINAL/CLERK’S FILE - WHITE     PAGE ________ OF _________              AUDITOR’S COPY - YELLOW 

 

Cause No:    ______________________________ 
 
Defendant:   ______________________________ 
 

 

 
HOURS IN COURT 

HOURS OUT 
OF COURT 

 
DATE 

 
BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES PERFORMED 

COURT 
APPEARANCES 

NO 
TESTIMONY 

PRE-TRIAL 
HEARING 

WITH 
TESTIMONY 

TRIAL 
WITH 

TESTIMONY 

 

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

Total Hours for this Page:
    



 

ANNUAL AFFIDAVIT CONFIRMING CLE AND REQUESTING TO BE CONTINUED ON 
INDIGENT APPOINTMENT LIST FOR FORT BEND DISTRICT  

AND COUNTY COURTS AT LAW  
 

ADDENDUM H 
 

I, (Print or Type Attorney's Name), 
do hereby make the following statements under oath and request that my name be continued on the list of 
licensed attorneys eligible for appointment to indigent defendants charged with criminal offenses in Fort 
Bend County, Texas. I hereby certify as follows, to wit: 

 

( ) I have completed the required hours of CLE pertaining to the defense of 
defendants in criminal cases (whether felony as outlined in ADDENDUM A or 
misdemeanor as outlined in ADDENDUM B) in the preceding calendar year, 
as required by the current Fort Bend County Adult Plan and Local Rules 
for the Appointment of Counsel to Indigent Defendants in the District and 
County Courts at Law of Fort Bend County, Texas, Pursuant to Senate 
Bill 7 and the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure; 
 

OR, 

( ) I am currently certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization in Criminal 
Law, effective for the calendar year for which this affidavit applies; 

 
AND 

( ) I am current with all other relevant CLE required by the State Bar of Texas and 
my membership in the State Bar of Texas is in good standing. 

Executed this the day of , 20 . 
 
 
 

 

Attorney (Print or Type Name) 
 

 

State Bar Number 
 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me, the undersigned Notary Public on this the    day of 
                      , 20        . 

 

 
 

Notary Public 
 

   Approved 
 
 

  Denied 
 
 

 

Fort Bend County Court Services Coordinator / Designee 
 

Date:   
  



 

RECERTIFICATION FOR CRIMINAL APPOINTMENTS IN FORT BEND COUNTY 
ADDENDUM I 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I certify that I continue to possess all the necessary qualifications, as set forth in the SB7 plan and addendums 

for continued appointment as an attorney for indigent defendants in Fort Bend County in the following categories: 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

LAST NAME  

FIRST NAME  

BAR CARD NO.:  

BUSINESS PHONE NO.: FAX NO.: WEB ADDRESS: 
   

CELLPHONE NO. HOME PHONE NO.: E-MAIL ADDRESS: 
   

BUSINESS FACEBOOK 
PAGE: 

BUSINESS TWITTER PAGE:  

PHYSICAL ADDRESS  

MAILING ADDRESS  

1. Has your status with the Texas State Bar (or with any other bar you have been admitted) 
changed in any way including any reprimands or suspensions (both active and suspended)?  If yes, 
attach decisions by the committee.  

2. Since your last certification to the appointment list have you been sanctioned by a Court in 
writing or found to be ineffective by a Court of Record?   If yes, attach all relevant orders or 
opinions.  
3. Please attach all judgments, appellate briefs or orders that indicate you continue to meet the 
ongoing minimum experience qualifications for each appointment list you have joined.  If these 
documents are sealed or expunged, please attach an affidavit documenting your relevant work.  

4. Please attach a copy of your entire profile page from the State Bar website and your full 
CLE transcript for the past two years from the State Bar website.   Please attach a recent passport 
sized photograph. 
5.           How many open criminal cases do you currently have?  ____    How many are appointed? 
____ 

6.       Are there any other circumstances that might negatively impact your ability to practice law.  
For example: pending criminal charges, convictions or probations involving crimes of moral 
turpitude. 



 

 

By my signature below, I swear or affirm that the information provided in this re-certification is true and 

correct. 

Executed this the day of , 20 . 
 
 
  

Attorney’s Signature 
  

State Bar Number 
 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me, the undersigned Notary Public on this the    day of 
                      , 20        . 

 
  

      Notary Public 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

THE STATE OF TEXAS § MAGISTRATE WARNING 
Texas Code of Criminal Pro., Art. 15.17 

COUNTY OF FORT BEND § 

ADDENDUM J 
 

Before me, the undersigned magistrate of the State of Texas, on this day personally appeared 
  in the custody of ,   a Peace 
Officer, and said person was given the following warning and admonitions by me: 

(1) You are charged with the offense(s) of    

 
 

An affidavit charging you with this offense has / has not been filed in this court. 

(2) You have a right to hire an attorney and have him / her present prior to and during any interview and questioning 
by peace officers or attorneys representing the State.  If you are too poor to afford an attorney, you have the right 
to request the appointment of an attorney to be present prior to and during any such interview and questioning. 
You may have reasonable time and opportunity to consult your attorney if you desire. 

(3) You have the right to remain silent. 

(4) You are not required to make a statement, and any statement you make can be used against you in Court. 

(5) You have the right to stop any interview or questioning at any time. 

(6) You may have the right to have an examining trial. 

(7) The procedure for requesting a court appointed attorney is as follows: 

(a) You must complete a Pre-Trial Intervention Interview Report to determine if you qualify for a court 
appointed attorney: 

(b) The Pre-Trial officer will help you complete the report; 
(c) An Application for Counsel and Order must be completed and signed; 
(d) You must qualify financially to be eligible for a court appointed attorney; 
(e) If you meet the indigence standards, then you will qualify for court appointed attorney; 
(f) If you qualify for and request a court appointed attorney you will be provided with the name and phone 

number of the attorney when the appointment is made; and 
(g) The court appointed attorney should contact you within 24 hours of the attorney’s appointment. 

 
THE ACCUSED DOES / DOES NOT WANT APPOINTED COUNSEL. 

Circle One 
 
 

Your bail is set at $    
 

  Bail is Denied 

 
 

 

Person Warned/Defendant 

 
 

 

 Fort Bend County Jail   
Place of Warning 

Magistrate 

 

 1410 Williams Way Blvd.   

Richmond, Texas 77469 

 
 
 
 

Name 

WITNESS: 

 
  

Time Address 
 

  

Date City 
 

REMARKS: 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 


