# FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

#### When will I receive my tax bill? When are taxes due for the current year?

Tax statements are mailed on October 1st or as soon thereafter as possible. Taxes are due upon receipt and become delinquent on February 1st of the following year.

#### What if I did not receive a tax statement?

It is the property owner's responsibility to pay property taxes. If a statement is not received by November, call our office for a duplicate statement. Per Section 31.01(g) of the Texas Property Tax Code, "failure to receive a tax statement does not affect the validity of the tax, penalty, interest, due date, the existence of a tax lien, or any procedure instituted to collect a tax."

#### Do you send my tax statement to my mortgage company?

By law, if the mortgage company requests your tax statement then the original statement MUST be mailed to the mortgage company.

## What types of payment options are available?

You must pay your taxes by U.S. Legal Tender by cash, check, money order, cashier's check, or credit card.

#### Who paid my taxes?

Call the tax office at 281-341-3710 to verify payer information. The tax office no longer changes payer information for tax receipt purposes. Over the counter payments are handed an original tax receipt as proof of payment.

#### What is my balance?

Click here to search your account information online.

# What is my paid amount?

Click here to search your account information online.

#### Please send a tax statement

Click here to search your account information and request a tax statement.

#### Please send a duplicate tax receipt

Tax receipts are now available on this web site.

#### Do you mail tax statements on all accounts?

No, \$0.00 tax due statements are not mailed.

#### What is a tax certificate and how can I obtain one?

A tax certificate is a certified document showing the amount of delinquent taxes, penalties, and interest due the unit on a property according to the unit's current certified tax records. To obtain a tax certificate, you need to submit a completed Tax Certificate request form which includes your name, address, and tax account number of the property to be certified. A fee of \$10 per account number MUST accompany the certificate request. Please note that there is a separate request form if requesting a tax certificate for a mobile home.

# **EXEMPTIONS—What types are available and how do I apply?**

Please note that each taxing unit acts independently in the exemptions they offer.

<u>Residence Homestead--</u> Available for home owners on their residence as long as they lived there on January 1<sup>st</sup> of the tax year.

Over Sixty-Five--Available for the entire year of the year you turn sixty-five years old.

Disabled Person – Available for the entire year you were declared disabled.

<u>Disabled Veteran</u>-- According to a disability rating.

100% Disable Veteran – Exemption covers total appraised value of Homestead

Exemption applications must be submitted to your Central Appraisal District. You can obtain a form by contacting the Fort Bend Central Appraisal District at 281-344-8623. Contact the Harris County Central Appraisal District at 713-957-7800. Contact the Waller County Central Appraisal District at 979-921-0060. Click <a href="here">here</a> to get forms needed to apply for exemptions.

# Where are the tax office and substations located?

Richmond Office (Main Office) located at 1317 Eugene Heimann Circle, Richmond, Texas 77469-3623, 281-341-3710

Missouri City substation located at 307 Texas Parkway., Missouri City, Texas 77489-1151, 281-261-2886

Needville substation located at 3743 School Street, Needville, Texas 77461-8365, 979-793-7557

Sugar Land substation located at 12550 Emily Court, Sugar Land, Texas 77478-3288, 281-242-4311.

Katy substation located at 22333 Grand Corner Dr, Katy, TX 77494-5749, 281-238-1490

Sienna substation located at 5855 Sienna Springs Way #101, Missouri City, TX 77459-6067, 832-471-4140.

Can I pay my property taxes at the substations? Yes. And each office has a drop box for your convenience.

# What are the office hours?

All offices are open Monday thru Friday from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm

#### Who do I contact concerning the value of my property?

To discuss concerns about your property value, you will need to contact your Central Appraisal District. Contact the Fort Bend Central Appraisal District at 281-344-8623. Contact the Harris County Central Appraisal District at 713-957-7800. Contact Waller County Central Appraisal District at 979-921-0060.

#### Can I make payment arrangements?

Payment plans are set up on "DELINQUENT ACCOUNTS ONLY" through our tax attorneys after July 1<sup>st</sup> of the year the taxes become delinquent. Current year taxes are due by January 31<sup>st</sup> of the following year. The tax office offers "Residential Homestead payment agreements" on delinquent taxes beginning February 1<sup>st</sup>. Accounts must have the Homestead exemption and have not entered into a payment agreement in the past 24 months to qualify.

#### Do you take partial payments?

No, we do NOT accept partial payments. We do allow payments for one tax unit at a time as long as it is paid in full. Please note that County taxes MUST be paid as one unit (General Fund and Drainage Fund). Taxes due in October become delinquent February 1<sup>st</sup> of the following year.

# Is there an option to pay taxes in advance for the upcoming year?

Click here to find out more information on setting up an escrow payment contract.

#### Why do I have to pay penalty and interest when I never received a bill?

As a property owner, it is your responsibility to make sure that your taxes are paid on or before January 31st of the following year in which they become due. Section 31.01 (g) of the Texas Property Tax Code states, "Failure to send or receive the tax bill required by this section does not affect the validity of the tax, penalty, interest, the due date, the existence of a tax lien, or any procedure instituted to collect a tax."

#### How do I request waiver of penalty and interest?

Click here for more information.

# My loan is paid off with the mortgage company...How do I receive my tax bill this year?

Contact the tax office in writing to request a tax statement.

#### How do I correct my name and/or address?

You must contact your Central Appraisal District by telephone. The Fort Bend Central Appraisal District contact number is 281-344-8623, their web address is <a href="www.fbcad.org">www.fbcad.org</a>, the Harris County Central Appraisal District contact number is 713-957-7800, their web address is <a href="www.hcad.org">www.hcad.org</a> and the Waller County Central Appraisal District contact number is 979-921-0060, their web address is <a href="www.waller-cad.org">www.waller-cad.org</a>

#### Why are my taxes higher this year as compared to last year?

Taxes may increase due to value increase, tax rate increases, exemptions removed from your account, collection of an additional tax unit from the previous year are some of the reasons.

#### A refund is due on my account, who receives the refund?

Normally refunds are mailed to the payer, however refunds due to changes made by the Appraisal District are mailed to the owner on file at the time payment was made.

#### I have paid on an incorrect account, how do I obtain a refund?

Contact our office with a written request stating the incorrect account number, payment amount and a contact name and phone number. Also, we will need a front and back copy of your cancelled check and a copy of the backup that accompanied the payment. You MUST verify that the correct account has been paid before a refund will be issued on the incorrect account.

#### I am over sixty-five or disabled, how do I apply for an installment plan?

# Texas Law allows you to make quarterly payments on your taxes and has established payment deadlines.

To qualify for the installment plan, the first payment <u>must be at least ¼ of the total tax amount</u> and is due no later than January 31<sup>st</sup>. However, if you missed the January 31<sup>st</sup> deadline, you will have until the end of February to make the first payment with a late fee of 6% penalty and 1% interest. The 2<sup>nd</sup>, 3<sup>rd</sup>, & 4<sup>th</sup> quarterly payments <u>MUST</u> be postmarked/paid by the following dates:

2<sup>nd</sup> quarter payment due by March 31<sup>st</sup>

3<sup>rd</sup> quarter payment due by May 31<sup>st</sup>

4th quarter payment due by July 31st

#### I am over sixty-five or disabled, how do I apply for a tax deferral?

Fill out a Tax Affidavit Deferral form and submit to your Central Appraisal District. You may download a <u>form</u> through the following link or you may contact their office by telephone. Fort Bend Central Appraisal District contact number is 281-344-8623, the Harris County Central Appraisal District contact number is 713-957-7800 and the Waller County Central Appraisal District contact number is 979-921-0060.

\*\*A tax deferral defers the collection of taxes if you own or occupy your residence; however, interest of 5% a year accrues on the unpaid amount.

## I am a new property owner, where do I file my deed?

All deeds are filed at the County Clerk's Office.

#### Who do I contact to remove a deceased person from the deed?

Contact the Appraisal District to ensure they have the correct owner information on file, however you may also need to contact an Attorney to ensure all required paperwork is recorded at the County Clerk's office.

# Where can I see a list of the monthly Fort Bend County tax property sales?

They are available on our delinquent tax attorney's web sites, <u>Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson, LLP</u> and Perdue, Brandon, Collins & Mott

# **Mailing Address:**

Carmen P. Turner, MPA, PCC, CTOP Fort Bend County Tax Assessor & Collector

General Correspondence: 1317 Eugene Heimann Circle Richmond, Texas 77469-3623 281-341-3710 832-471-1830 - Fax

For Submitting Tax Payments: P O. Box 4277 Houston, TX 77210-**4277** 

Fort Bend County Clerk
301 Jackson Street, Ste 101
Richmond, TX 77469
281-341-8685

# **Fort Bend County Appraisal District**

2801 B.F. Terry Blvd. Rosenberg, Texas 77471-5600 281-344-8623 281-344-8632 - Fax http://www.fbcad.org

# **Harris County Appraisal District**

13013 Northwest Freeway. Houston, Texas 77040-6305 713-957-7800 http://www.hcad.org

....

Waller County Appraisal District 900 13th Street Hempstead, Texas 77445-5155 713-957-7800 http://www.waller-cad.org