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Carmen P. Turner, MPA 
Tax Assessor-Collector 

1317 Eugene Heimann Circle 
Richmond TX  77469-3623 

281-341-3710 
 
 

INFORMATION REGARDING REQUESTS FOR WAIVER OF PENALTIES AND INTEREST 
 

This information is being provided to all parties interested in requesting a waiver or refund of penalties 
and interest which have accrued on delinquent property taxes. 

 
The Texas Property Tax Code Section 33.011 grants authority to waive penalties and interest on 
delinquent property taxes only under specific circumstances. There is no provision for waiver for 
financial hardship or inability to pay taxes or for failure to receive a tax bill due to providing an incorrect 
mailing address or failing to provide an updated mailing address to the appraisal district or the taxing 
unit or to an employee or agent of the appraisal district or taxing unit. 

 
Requests for waiver of penalties and interest will be considered under the following scenarios as 
stipulated in Section 33.011 of the Texas Property Tax Code: 

 
1. If an act or omission by an officer, employee, or agent of the appraisal district or tax office 

results in a taxpayer’s failure to pay a tax before the delinquency date AND the original tax 
amount is paid no later than the 21st day after the date the property owner knows or should 
have known of the delinquency.  Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(a)(1) 
A request for wavier of penalties and interest under this subsection must be made before the 
181st day after the delinquency date.  Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(d) 

 
2. If a tax statement is returned undeliverable to the tax office, the tax office does not send 

another tax statement at least 21 days before the delinquency date to a current address 
provided by the owner, AND the owner establishes that a proper address was provided to the 
appraisal district before September 1 or the original statement was returned undeliverable due 
to an act or omission of an officer, employee or agent of the tax office or appraisal district. 
Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(b) 
A request for wavier of penalties and interest under this subsection must be made before the 
181st day after the delinquency date.  Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(d) 

 
3. If the property owner submits sufficient evidence showing they attempted to pay the original 

tax amount electronically in the proper manner before the delinquency date, that failure to pay 
was caused by an error in the transmission of funds, AND the tax was properly paid no later 
than 21 days after the taxpayer knew or should have known of the delinquency. (Using your 
bank’s online bill pay program to issue a check which is mailed to us is not an electronic funds 
transfer.)  Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(h) 
A request for wavier of penalties and interest under this subsection must be made before the 
181st day after the delinquency date.  Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(d) 
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4. If a taxpayer submits evidence showing payment was timely mailed to an incorrect address for 
the tax office that would have been correct in a prior tax year AND would have been correct 
within one year of the date the payment was mailed. The original tax amount must also be paid 
within 21 days after the property owner knew or should have known of the delinquency. Texas 
Tax Code Section 33.011(a)(3) 
A request for wavier of penalties and interest under this subsection must be made before the 
181st day after the delinquency date.  Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(d) 

 
5. If a payment was timely mailed, but an act or omission of the postal service or private carrier 

resulted in postmark or delivery being after the delinquency date. Texas Tax Code Section 
33.011(j) 
A request for wavier of penalties and interest under this subsection must be made before the 
181st day after the delinquency date.  Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(d) 

 
6. If the property is subject to a mortgage that does not require an escrow account with the 

mortgage company, and the tax bill is sent to the mortgage company, and the mortgage 
company fails to mail a copy of the tax bill to the property owner AND the tax was properly paid 
no later than 21 days after the taxpayer knew or should have known of the delinquency. Texas 
Tax Code Section 33.011(k) 
A request for wavier of penalties and interest under this subsection must be made before the 
181st day after the delinquency date.  Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(d) 

 
7. If the property is acquired by a religious organization AND the organization pays the tax and 

qualifies the property for an exemption within 1 year of the date the religious organization 
acquires the property.  Texas Tax Code Section 33.011(a)(2) 

 
8. If the delinquency relates to a date prior to ownership of the property AND the delinquency is a 

result of taxes imposed on: (1) omitted property added to the appraisal records, (2) erroneously 
exempted property, (3) property where appraised value was added, OR (4) property added to 
the appraisal records under a different account number when the prior owner owned the 
property. In all instances listed under this scenario, the original tax amount must be paid within 
181 days of the current owner receiving notice of the delinquency. Texas Tax Code Section 
33.011(i) 

 
If your situation meets the criteria for consideration as noted above, and you wish to request waiver of 
penalties and interest, you must first submit your payment of the original tax amount to the tax office. 

 
After submitting your payment you will need to do the following: 

A. Complete the enclosed Request for Waiver of Penalties and Interest form 
B. Submit appropriate supporting documentation or evidence. It is the taxpayer’s 

responsibility to provide substantial evidence. 

Email all requests to taxwaivers@fortbendcountytx.gov or mail or hand deliver to: 

Fort Bend County Tax Office 
Attn: Tax Research                               
1317 Eugene Heimann Circle  
Richmond, TX  77469-3110 

mailto:taxwaivers@fortbendcountytx.gov
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Requests for waiver of penalties and interest will be reviewed by the Penalties and Interest Review 
Committee which consists of the Tax Assessor-Collector, the Chief Deputy of Property Taxes, and a 
representative from the County’s delinquent tax attorney firm. All requests will be reviewed by the 
committee and a recommendation notice provided to the requester. 

 
The request will be placed on a future Commissioners Court agenda and the requester will be notified of 
the date and time of the Commissioners Court meeting. If your request is placed on the agenda, your 
written request and all supporting documentation will become part of the public records of 
Commissioners Court for the meeting at which your request is considered. Should you disagree with the 
recommendation of the committee, you may contact your County Commissioner who will be noted in 
your recommendation letter. 

 
If your request is denied by Commissioners Court, penalties and interest that were due at the time your 
waiver request and original tax payment were received at the Tax Office must be paid within 21 days of 
the Commissioners Court decision to prevent additional penalties and interest from being assessed and 
the commencement of collection activities. If your request is approved by Commissioners Court, any 
penalties and interest on the tax amount in question that accrued during this process will be removed 
and a receipt of taxes paid will be provided. In the event that penalties and interest have been paid, a 
refund will be processed and issued to the taxpayer. 

 
Contact the Tax Office at 281-341-3710 with any questions. 
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Request for Waiver of Penalties and Interest 
 
 

Request Date:       
 

  ACCOUNT INFORMATION  

Property Account Number:     
 

Legal Description of Property:     
 
 
 

Year(s) for which requesting waiver:     
 

Taxpayer Name:    
 

Current Mailing Address:     
 

Current Daytime Phone Number:     
 

Current Email Address:     
 

  BASIS FOR WAIVER REQUEST  

Texas Property Tax Code Section 33.011 allows a taxing unit to waive penalties and interest in limited, defined 
circumstances. PLEASE READ THE “INFORMATION REGARDING REQUESTS FOR WAIVER/REFUND OF PENALTIES AND 
INTEREST” SHEET BEFORE COMPLETING THIS FORM, AS DESCRIPTIONS BELOW ARE SIMPLIFIED EXPLANATIONS. 

 I confirm that I have read “Information Regarding Requests for Waiver/Refund of Penalties and Interest” 

Please check the appropriate box that describes your situation. 
Tax Office or Appraisal District Error [Section 33.011(a)(1)]:  An act or omission of an officer, employee, or agent of 

the taxing unit of the appraisal district in which the taxing unit participates caused or resulted in the taxpayer’s failure to 
pay the tax before the delinquency date. 

 
Tax Statement is Returned Undeliverable [Section 33.011(b)]: A tax statement was returned undeliverable to the tax 

office, the tax office did not send another tax statement at least 21 days before the delinquency date, and the returned 
tax statement was due to an act or omission of an officer, employee, or agent of the tax office. 

 
Electronic Payment Error [Section 33.011(h)]: The taxpayer submits sufficient evidence showing they attempted to 

pay the original tax amount electronically in the proper manner before the delinquency date, that failure to pay was 
caused by an error in the transmissions of the funds. 

 
Payment Mailed to an Incorrect Address [Section 33.011(a)(3)]: The taxpayer submits sufficient evidence showing 

payment was timely mailed to an incorrect address that would have been correct in a prior tax year AND would have 
been correct within one year of the date the payment was mailed. 

 
Mail or Private Carrier Error {Section 33.011(j)]: The taxpayer submits sufficient evidence showing payment was 

timely mailed, but that an act or omission of the postal service or private carrier resulted in postmark or delivery being 
after the delinquency date. 
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Mortgage Company Error {Section 33.011(k)]: The taxpayer submits sufficient evidence showing that the property is 
not subject to an escrow account with the mortgage company, the tax bill was sent to the mortgage company, and the 
mortgage company failed to forward the tax bill to the owner. 

 
Religious Organization {Section 33.011(a)(2)]: The property for which the tax is owed was acquired by a religious 

organization and before the first anniversary of the date the religious organization acquired the property, the 
organization paid the tax and qualified the property for the exemption. 

 
Property was Omitted, Erroneously Exempted, Value Added, or Added Under a Different Account Number [Section 

33.011(i)]: If the delinquency relates to a date prior to ownership of the property AND the delinquency is a result of 
omitted property later added to the appraisal roll, the property was erroneously exempted, the property had appraised 
value added, or if the property was added under a different account number when the prior owner owned the property. 

 
 
 

Please attach all supporting documentation to this request for waiver of penalties and interest form. The Waiver 
Committee will only review documentation and evidence provided AT THE TIME OF THE REQUEST. Any documentation 
or evidence not provided with the request will not be considered in your waiver determination. 

 
Requests must be received before the 181st day after the delinquency date AND include sufficient evidence to 
substantiate the reason for waiver of penalties and interest. 

 
Financial hardship is not a legal basis for waiver of penalties and interest. 

Email all requests and supporting documentation to taxwaivers@fortbendcountytx.gov or mail or hand deliver to: 

Fort Bend County Tax Office 
Attn: Tax Research                                                             
1317 Eugene Heimann Circle 
Richmond TX  77469-3110 

Contact the Tax Office at 281-341-3710 with any questions. 

mailto:taxwaivers@fortbendcountytx.gov
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