## Fort Bend County JONES CREEK RANCH PARK

## ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE POLICIES

- The sale, consumption or distribution of any alcoholic beverage(s) at Jones Creek Ranch Park is expressly prohibited unless authorized by the Facility Coordinator or his/her designee prior to the event.
- The Fort Bend County Pct. #3 Constable's Office will determine the number of law enforcement officers required on an event-by-event basis. During the course of an event where alcohol is served, the County reserves the right to require additional law enforcement officers, limit the number of invitees, and/or to end the event at any time if the County determines continuation of the event will jeopardize public safety. If an event is ended before the scheduled time due to unsafe conditions as determined by law enforcement, no refund of any rental fees will be due.
- Beer and liquor sales require a Temporary Permit, obtained by the renter:

TABC Code Sec. 11.01. PERMIT REQUIRED. (a) No person who has not first obtained a permit of the type required for the privilege exercised may, in a wet area, do any of the following:

- (1) manufacture, distill, brew, sell, possess for the purpose of sale, import into this state, export from this state, transport, distribute, warehouse, or store liquor;
- (2) solicit or take orders for liquor; or
- (3) for the purpose of sale, bottle, rectify, blend, treat, fortify, mix, or process liquor.
- Can I give away free alcoholic beverages without holding a TABC permit? It is legal to provide free alcoholic beverages without a permit. However, to be truly "free," it must be available to any adult who walks in the door and requests it. If alcoholic beverages are only available to paying customers, the assumption is that the cost of the alcohol is included in the price of the service. This constitutes a sale of alcoholic beverages, and a TABC permit would be required. When you provide the alcoholic beverage, there cannot be any expectation of receiving money. You cannot ask for a "donation" or "tip." If the drinks will only be available to paying guests, then you will need a permit. Some examples: A wedding reception with free drinks is really free. A boutique that serves free wine while you shop, even if you don't buy anything, is really free. A nail salon with a "free" drink when you pay for a manicure is not really free. If you buy tickets to attend a charity ball and they serve "free" drinks, those are not really free. If a tip jar sits next to a keg of beer expecting "donations," the beer would not be considered free.
- For information or questions concerning the sale of alcohol please contact the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission at (281)239-2607. If the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission denies such license, Fort Bend County will not be held responsible.
- The following sanctions and penalties may be assessed for violation of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code. For a complete list of sanctions and penalties, see <a href="http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/faq/licensing.asp">http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/faq/licensing.asp</a>

Sale or delivery of unauthorized alcoholic beverages to a non-licensed business in violation of manufacturing and wholesaler sections of the Alcoholic Beverage Code. §§11.01, 19.01, 61.01 or 62.01	6-8 days \$300 per day	12-16 days \$300 per day	Cancel
Sale of any unauthorized alcoholic beverage in violation of §11.01, Alcoholic Beverage Code.	8-13 days \$300 per day	16-26 days \$300 per day	Cancel