Marriage Licenses

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Thank you for choosing Fort Bend County to purchase your marriage license. We have a dedicated staff ready to assist you on this happy occasion.


Considerations Prior to Applying for a Marriage License

  • A license purchased in any Texas county can be used anywhere in the state of Texas and any other state or country that will accept it. This includes a ceremony performed on an aircraft, boat, or ship traveling in the US or International Territory.
  • When a license is purchased, it may not be used for the first 72 hours. 
  • A waiver for the waiting period may be obtained. The seventy-two hour waiting period does not apply to an applicant who: (1) is a member of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty; (2) not a member of the armed forces of the United States but performs work for the United States Department of Defense as a department employee or under contract with the department; (3) obtains written waiver from a judge under Subsection (c); or completes a premarital EDUCATION COURSE DESCRIBED BY Section 2.013 Family Code, and provides to the county clerk a premarital education course completion certificate not more than one year before the date the marriage license application is filed with the county clerk.See Texas Family Code 2.204, Application for the Waiver of the Seventy-Two Hour Waiting Period.
  • The license is only valid for 90 days including the date of purchase. 
  • There is no law requiring a blood test.
  • The person who performs the marriage ceremony is responsible for returning the marriage license to the County Clerk's Office within 30 days from the date of marriage. 
  • The original license is returned to you after it is filed. 
  • The license will remain on file in the county where it was purchased. Certified copies may be ordered from that county at any time. 
  • If DIVORCED, there is a 30-day waiting period after the divorce is final before remarriage, unless waived or divorced from each other. If the 30-day waiting period is waived, a certified copy of the divorce decree must be presented at the time the license is purchased. 
  • For MINORS obtaining a marriage license – Effective September 1, 2017, if either applicant is under 18 years of age, a court order granted by the State under the Texas Family Code Chapter 31, removing the disabilities of minority of the applicant for general purpose is required. In addition, minor applicants must show a certified copy of birth certificate with current school ID, driver's license, or state ID. Please call (281) 341-8652 for additional information.
  • For MARRIAGE BY PROXY, please call (281) 341-8652 for additional information.
  • There are two types of marriage licenses – Formal Marriage License and Declaration and Registration of Informal Marriage (Common Law). Please see the section below for the requirements.  

Online Application and Requirements Checklist for Formal Marriage License

****It is mandatory that the Marriage License Application be filled out online!****

  1. Must be 18 years of age. 
  2. Complete application online.
  3. Both parties must appear at any Fort Bend County Clerk location, together or separately, in person with a valid ID. (Parts of the application process may be completed by Absentee Application if one party is unable to appear in person. Call (281) 341-8652 for additional information.)
  4. Must have valid government-issued picture identification. Proof of age and identity are required. Acceptable, valid forms of identification include:
    • Driver's license
    • State ID
    • Passport
    • Military ID
    • Visa
    • Certified copy of birth certificate with photo ID
    • Call (281) 341-8652 for questions regarding other acceptable forms of ID.
  5. Must know Social Security Number. The actual card does not need to be presented. 
  6. The application must be signed in the presence of the County Clerk staff. 
  7. There is a $69.00 application fee payable with cash, debit card*, credit card* (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover), or money order. *Payment made by credit or debit card will be charged a 2.75% convenience fee based on the amount of the charge ($1.00 minimum).
    • Marriage license fee may be reduced from $69.00 to $9.00 with valid proof of state approved Pre-marital Education Course. 
    • Pre-marital education courses in your area:

The 72-hour waiting period and 90-day expiration period will begin when the license is purchased and both parties appear and sign the application before a clerk. 

List of Active and Retired Judges Who May Perform Marriage Ceremonies

This list of active and retired judges is provided only for informational purposes by the Fort Bend County Clerk's Office. It is not an endorsement of any particular judge, nor does it guarantee their availability to perform a ceremony. Scheduling and cost is determined by each individual judge.

The law authorizes an ordained minister, rabbi, priest, and other licensed official to perform the marriage ceremony. For more information, see Texas Family Code Chapter 2

 

Requirements Checklist for Declaration of Informal Marriage

A couple may sign a Declaration of Informal Marriage (Texas Family code, Subchapter E). Applicants for informal marriages are asked to sign the following declaration and oath:

"I solemnly swear (or affirm) that we, the undersigned, are married to each other by virtue of the following facts: on or about (date) we agreed to be married, and after that date we lived together as husband and wife and in this state we represented to others that we were married. Since the date of marriage to the other party I have not been married to any other person. This declaration is true and the information in it which I have given is correct." 

  1. Must be 18 years of age.
  2. Both parties must appear at any Fort Bend County Clerk location, together or separately, in person with a valid ID. 
  3. Must have valid government-issued picture identification. Proof of age and identity are required. Acceptable, valid forms of identification include:
    • Driver's license
    • State ID
    • Passport
    • Military ID
    • Visa
    • Certified copy of birth certificate with photo ID
    • Call (281) 341-8652 for questions regarding other acceptable forms of ID.
  4. Must know Social Security Number. The actual card does not need to be presented.
  5. There is a $34.00 application fee payable with cash, debit card*, credit card* (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover), or money order. *Payment made by credit or debit card will be charged a 2.75% convenience fee based on the amount of the charge ($1.00 minimum).

Call (281) 341-8652 for additional information on an Informal Marriage Declaration. 


Marriage Search and Copy Fee Checklist

You may obtain a certified copy of a marriage license that was filed in Fort Bend County at any Fort Bend Count Clerk location. If requesting in person, you will receive the copy once you have completed your request. If requesting by mail, due to high volume, please allow 6 to 8 weeks to receive your requested information. 

Conduct Your Own Online Search

  1. You have the option of searching the records online or at any Fort Bend County Clerk location and providing the clerk with a certificate number. 
  2. Cost:
    • Per page copy fee of $1.00 when the customer provides the certificate number.
    • $5.00 per certification + $1.00 vitals preservation fee per record produced. (Example: one page marriage license copy is $7.00)

Clerk Conducts the Search

  1. A non-refundable search will be charged when the clerk conducts the search for the customer.
  2.  Cost:
    • Search fee of $21.00 will be applied as a Search Fee or a Certificate Production Fee.
    • Per page copy fee of $1.00 when the customer provides the certificate number.
    • $5.00 per certification + $1.00 vitals preservation fee per record produced. (Example: one page marriage license copy is $7.00)

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer