County Officers are elected in November of even numbered years for four-year terms. The next General Election will be held on November 5, 2024.

The following offices will be elected in 2024:

Office Office Holder
Commissioner Precinct 1 Vincent Morales, Jr
Commissioner Precinct 3 Andy Meyers
Constable Precinct 1 Chad Norvell
Constable Precinct 2 Daryl L. Smith, Sr.
Constable Precinct 3  Nabil Shike
Constable Precinct 4 Mike Beard
County Attorney Bridgett Smith Lawson
County Court at Law 5 Teana V. Watson
District Judge 387th District Janet Buering Heppard
District Judge 400th District  Tameika Carter
District Judge 434th District Christian Becerra
District Judge 505th District Kali Morgan
Justice of the Peace Precinct 4 Gary D. Janssen
Justice of the Peace Precinct 2, 2 Michael Moore
Sheriff Eric Fagan
Tax Collector/Assessor Carmen Turner

The following offices will be elected in 2026:

Office Office Holder
County Judge KP George
Commissioner Precinct 2 Grady Prestage
Commissioner Precinct 4 Dexter McCoy
County Clerk Laura Richard
County Court at Law 1 Christopher G. Morales
County Court at Law 2 Tyra McCollum
County Court at Law 3 Juli Mathew
County Court at Law 4 Toni M. Wallace
County Court at Law 6 Dean Hrbacek
District Attorney Brian Middleton
District Clerk Beverley McGrew Walker
District Judge 240th District Surendran Patel
District Judge 268th District Steve Rogers
District Judge 328th District Monica Rawlins
District Judge 458th District Chad Bridges
Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, 1 Kelly Crow
Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, 2 Tricia Krenek
Justice of the Peace Precinct 2, 1 Roderick Garner
Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 Sonia Rash

Running for Office

If you wish to run for county office, you may have your name placed on the ballot by either seeking the nomination of an established political party in a Primary Election, or by running as an Independent. You may also run in the General Election as a write-in candidate.


Running in the March 5, 2024 Primary Election

Candidates for County Office seeking Party nominations must file an application with their county party chair. Candidates for District Office file with their State Party Chair. Applications and petition form are available from party officials or they may be downloaded from the web site of the Texas Secretary of State. The application, filing fee, and/or petitions must be submitted to the Party Chair between November 11, 2023 and December 11, 2023 @ 6:00 P.M. If mailing, the application must be received not postmarked by the filing deadline.

Candidate Application Forms: Here are the links to the candidate application forms.  If you are having problems getting the 09/2023 version of the form to load, please make sure you clear your cache.


Link to Form

Application for Party Chair on Primary Ballot


Application for Place on the Primary Ballot


Petition in Lieu of Filing Fee and/or Petition for Judicial Office (For Use in Primary Election)


Petition for Statewide Judicial Office on Primary Ballot


Application for Place on Primary Ballot - Federal Office



Methods of Filing Candidate Application: A candidate application may be filed in person, by mail, by fax, or by email.  

  1. Filing in Person: Candidates can file in person with the applicable filing authority.
  2. Filing by Mail:An application submitted by mail is considered to be filed at the time of its receipt by the appropriate filing authority.
  3. Filing by Fax or Email: A signed, sworn, scanned candidate application (and petition, if applicable) may be submitted by fax or email if there is no filing fee.  If a candidate is filing their candidate application with a filing fee, they may only do so in person or by mail. 


Independent Candidates do not appear on the Primary Ballot. To run in the November General Election as an Independent, you must first file a declaration of intent with the County Judge during the regular filing period. After the Primary, or Primary Runoff Election, you must then collect signatures from registered voters in your district who did not vote in the Primary or Runoff Elections. These petitions and candidates application must also be filed with the County Judge by 6:00 pm on June 23, 2024


To become a Write-in candidate, you must file a declaration of candidacy with the County Judge not earlier then July 20, 2023, and not later than August 19, 22024. The declaration must be accompanied by either a filing fee, or petitions signed by the required number of voters. The names of write-in candidates do not appear on the ballot.


Appointment of a Treasurer and Campaign Finance Reporting

Persons who declare their candidacy for public office, or persons who make expenditures or accept donations as candidates must comply with Texas Campaign Finance laws. If you are considering running for office, you should immediately visit the website of the Texas Ethics Commission for forms and filing information.


Running for Party Office.


Local Officials of the major political Parties are also chosen at Primary Elections. The filing period for precinct chair begins September 12, 2023 and ends at 6:00 pm on December 11, 2023. Applications are filed with the local Party Chairs. No filing fee is required.